30 Day Fitness Challenge

I used to be a devoted gym rat, but as I got older, busier, and more established in my career, it became increasingly challenging to squeeze in workouts. When my dad got sick, the focus on my own health and well-being took a further hit.

What I’ve just said sounds like a list of excuses because that’s exactly what it is. My fitness journey has been full of them, but I’m back on the wagon now and I hope it stays that way for the rest of my life. When I was younger, working out was only to look good in a bikini; now that I’m older, it’s for my health and is a lot more important than skin deep.

I decided to move my workouts from the gym to my house, which could have been fraught with complications and even more excuses. Who would pick working out over their couch? Well, luckily I have been on average of 3-4 times per week, which is a vast improvement over not working out at all. I’ve started to see results, so I’m staying motivated.

training-828741_640

30 Day Fitness Challenge

Generally, I purchase my workout DVDs so that I can bring them with me when we travel. However, I’ve become bored of my usual staples, so I decided to check out some YouTube fitness gurus to broaden my horizons (and avoid that dreaded plateau). If I like the videos enough, I will buy them and add them to my collection. If not, no harm done.

To spice things up, I’m trying a 30 day fitness challenge from the BeFiT YouTube channel. I’m combining the 30 Day Butt Lift and the 30 Day Fat Burn into one challenge to maximize my results. In conjunction with eating cleaner, I feel that I am finally on the right track towards getting healthy.

tape-403590_640

My 30 Day Plan

30 Day Butt Lift      Fat Burn

Click the images to enlarge them. I encourage you to follow along with me!

Tracking Results

Me: Can you take a picture of my butt?

JP: Sure!

Me: Don’t you want to know why?

JP: Does it matter?

Me: I’m taking before and after pictures so I can track my results with a 30 Day Fitness challenge I’m trying.

JP: Okay. Take off your pants.

I will keep you posted on my progress with six weekly updates that each contain five day summaries. Don’t worry, I will spare you from my butt pictures. Instead, you can see the butt I’d like to have when I’m done!

Stay tuned!

bikini-694669_640

How do you stay motivated? Where are you in your fitness journey? Do you workout at a gym or at home?

48 thoughts on “30 Day Fitness Challenge

  1. Good luck 🙂 Feel free to stop by my on going blog, I am going to be posting my own challenge – with workouts and some good healthy recipes – I like your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i have been SO LAZY with the fitness. i did a whole post about new year resolutions and the like and NOTHING has happened. however, i have no excuse now and i’m going to jump right back on that yoga wagon b/c i found it is what has worked best for me. and add in some cycling b/c i just like to!

    in my case, the fitness is so that i can ride my horsey without the usual complaints from HER… for real.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I had a giant beast (who could buck me off at any time) complaining to me about something, I’d fix it ASAP too! My goals are to get healthy and feel good about my fitness level.

      Like

  3. Hi! I loved this post! There must be something in the air about fitness because I just finished a post about getting back in shape after a terrible year. I’ll be publishing it tomorrow on my blog: http://southernrootsandnorthernblossoms.com It’s called Butt in Chair equals Death. I love that you included the charts of the workouts you do. That is so helpful. 🙂 It’s also good to know I’m not alone in my quest for fitness. I laughed when I read that you took a picture of your butt! I did something similar, but instead of taking a picture of my butt, I took a picture of my tummy. I spared anyone looking at that mess! Thanks for the great inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am looking forward to reading your post tomorrow and following along in your journey.

      The support I’ve found through blogging has been wonderful. I don’t have a “fitness buddy” to workout with in person, so finding people online who help me stay accountable has been great.

      Like

    1. I agree. The best place to workout is…anywhere! As long as you are being active, it doesn’t matter where you choose to do it. Some people aren’t able to find the motivation to workout at home because it’s easy to find better things to do. However, I find it much better to exercise in my home gym because I can fit workouts in when it’s convenient for me rather than letting gym hours dictate my schedule.

      Like

    1. Thank you for the encouragement! I’m feeling extremely unmotivated today. It’s raining here and my boxer pup wants to cuddle and sleep the day away…how tempting does that sound?! I’m going to work out though, as much as I don’t want to.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m on a quest for the elusive six-pack. Each day I work on a different muscle group – a plan one of my old trainers laid out for me. When I need to change it up I scout sites like Bodybuilding.com or my favorite Instagram accounts for new moves. I like Zuzka Light who has many videos on YouTube. Although I’m a gym rat I love her HIIT workouts and the fact that she does everything at home using bodyweight exercises and she looks amazing. I stay motivated by following my favorite fitness gurus, trying out new exercises, and working out with friends. The butt is one of my favorite parts to work out. 😀 Best of luck on your fitness journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for reminding me about Zuzka Light! I did some of her videos ages ago, enjoyed them, and the promptly forgot, lol.

    I appreciate that you took the time to comment. It sounds like you have a great plan in place! Good luck with the 6 pack 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Swimming is such a great form of low impact exercise. I really wish I had a pool! You don’t have to do all of the workouts from the challenge. They are really short (10 minutes) so you could always incorporate one as a warm-up if you want to give it a try 🙂

    Like

  7. Hello, and thank you for liking my post. 😊

    For me, staying motivated is the hardest challenge because I am too hard on myself and I expect results way too quick. I have not been in a gym for about ten years and I bought all my workout equipment for home. I have been working out off and on for years. Currently I am doing p90x (second round) with my daughter n law and will be doing the Whole30 challenge right after Easter. I constantly have to change up my workout routine because my body seems to adapt way to easy. It can be super frustrating.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree that it is a long and frustrating process. I’m finally seeing some success on the scale and it’s a great feeling! I change up my routine often not only because my body adapts but also because I get bored. I’m not one of those people who will ever love exercise – it’s just a necessary evil for me!

      Like

      1. That’s my problem, too. Cardio is the WORST. I get a lot of it while I lift weights, but then I have to force myself to actually do HIIT and get on the elliptical. That’s why I loved T25 Focus – cardio, but short and intense!

        Like

  8. I’m thankful that you liked my blog post as it led me to your blog! I see that this post is from a while ago, but was wondering how you are doing with your fitness goals. I’m a Beachbody coach and would love to introduce you to the amazing workouts and nutritution tips available online! Feel free to look around at Beachbody.com.

    Tracey Casciano

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am doing very well! My sugar detox really kicked my body into gear and I’m very pleased with my progress. I have completed T25 already and I am considering both PiYo and the 21 Day Fix. I do love Beachbody programs, but I find they are very expensive. I’ve been using free programs online with great success.

      Like

      1. I’ve done Body Beast, Insanity, Body Combat and am on round 2 of P90x. I love Beach body stuff as well, but it’s way too expensive! And the shakeology is super expensive unless you are selling it.. I just gave up my BB business, after half a year of struggling to afford the $104.00 of shakeology I HAD to buy each month. (My up line coach required it of us.) You can actually buy the 21 day fix containers separately, and I have noticed that you can get *generic* containers on amazon for cheap as well. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have never tried Shakeology because I am trying to make long-term, sustainable changes that I will want to do for the rest of my life. I know that I won’t want to be drinking my meals forever, so I’m not going to do it short-term either. I’d rather eat whole, clean food than drink it, lol.

        I have been solicited to be a Beachbody coach before, but it’s not something that I’m interested in. A lot of people are against working with coaches (and I don’t blame them) and I am not a sales person by nature. Any business where I’m losing money is not really worthwhile to me, ha.

        Like

Leave a Reply

