Farm to Fork

JP and I have decided that we are no longer going to buy “mystery meat” from the grocery store. I am not going to bring home “Grade AAA meat from US and Canadian sources” because I don’t even know what that means. Where in the US? Where in Canada? How come the packaging can’t tell me the appropriate details? North America is a big place. I want to know the specific farm that my meat comes from, not just the country (and even that is dubious when two are listed).

Why Are We Doing This?

It’s more expensive and also more work to source local, sustainable products. So, why bother? Why not just go to the grocery store and make life simple? Well, I think it’s important to support local farmers and also understand exactly what I’m putting into my body. Eventually we would like to convert as many of our grocery products as possible to “farm to fork” options. For now, we are starting with meat.

cattle-640985_640

Where Did We Go?

VG Meats is a family business, which I think is fantastic. They raise their own beef and only partner with local poultry and pork farmers. They even let you take farm tours so that you can better understand their operations. There is no mystery behind their meat, which is why we decided to give them a try. My friend DK is the one who inspired me to start making more informed choices and I’m so glad that she did. She tells me that we will taste the difference in the meat and I’m excited to see if that’s true.

vg-meats

What Was Our Experience Like?

Our experience at VG Meats was mixed. Like most retail locations, the service depends highly upon which customer service representative you happen to be dealing with. We had one individual who was fantastic and another who was quite rude and impatient. I will say that every family member I have encountered has been incredibly polite, genuine, and deeply invested in their business (which, I suppose, is to be expected). As for whether or not we will return, we will have to see how the products taste!

What Did We Get?

For our first visit, JP and I purchased one of the freezer specials. You save quite a bit of money doing it this way, plus we won’t have to separate and vacuum seal a bunch of fresh (read: raw) meat. We also liked the fact that we could customize our order because we needed extra chicken to share with Grams (we eat a LOT of chicken between our two households). In addition to the freezer special, we also purchased some fresh meat products.

In total, we ended up with close to 90 pounds of meat (you read that correctly) for well under $500. We think that’s a fantastic price because we got to choose the cuts we wanted, which isn’t possible at a lot of local farms that don’t have retail storefronts. Maybe it’s a little less authentic, but on the bright side, we won’t need to buy meat for a very long time.

What’s The Next Step in Our Food Journey?

VG Meats is a one stop shop for meat, which is convenient. My friend DK sources her meat from different locations depending on what each region is known for. Apparently, Stratford is known for pork, so that’s the only place she will get pork from (and she purchases the full animal without wasting any parts because she’s awesome like that). I am not sure that we are ready for such a commitment, but I am happy with the baby step that we took today. I’m proud of where our money went and the food that we brought home.

Next, I would like to find local farms where we can buy our eggs, dairy, and produce products from. Many of the small farms in our area don’t have an online presence, so we will have to do our sourcing the good old fashioned way: take a drive in farm country and look for some “fresh egg” signs! Car rides are one of B’s favourite things ever and JP and I quite enjoy exploring too (especially in the country). Handing money directly to a farmer will help me feel more connected to the process and to what I’m serving my family.

country-lane-428039_640

Do you practice the farm to fork philosophy?

18 thoughts on “Farm to Fork

  1. You’re making a smart investment in yourself. Food is becoming (potentially) more dangerous as the legislature and big business work together to create “mystery food” for the public. The only way to change the system is to continuously (but diplomatically) reinforce the message to the public until there is better awareness. Cost certainly is a factor, but as the demand for better quality food increases, the natural competition among stores will bring the costs in line. Regardless of what you paid, it certainly is not less costly or less painful (as a result of eating processed, artificial foods with toxic additives) than the medical procedures and pharmaceutical agents you will need as you age resulting from consuming these dangerous food items. Again, I think you made a very wise decision!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the support! It was something that I was thinking about doing for quite some time but my husband was against it initially because of the cost. We are at a point in our lives where we can afford it though and the cheapest price does not equate with the best value in this case.

      After losing my father to cancer, I worry about all of the potential things that can happen as we age. Of course, there are a lot of things we can’t prevent, but at the same time, there are things we can do to help control certain illnesses and conditions. If something is preventable, I think it’s foolhardy not to do what you can to do just that!

      I do feel bad for folks who aren’t able to do what’s best for themselves because it’s cost prohibitive for them. The way the system is designed is very flawed, but that’s a whole separate issue as is big businesses and regulators seemingly in bed with each other. For now, I’m going to do what I can to protect my family and work on saving the world later 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great idea. What’s your location? I know there are some farms around New York that you can go and do this kind of thing but living in the city, most of us don’t drive. This is something I’d like to do when I get a car. Drive out to get my produce from an organic farm.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We have a local Amish meat market. The meat is so much better tasting than the grocery store. And every Saturday is a farmers market. Check out organic consumers, you may find more local stuff. 🙂 Just google Organic consumers, I didn’t want to post a link on your comment section.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. you’re making the right choices. not only are you supporting local, humane and sustainable farming, you’re doing something good for you! there is no perfect system but taking control what you can is a good place to start. good luck on this journey! i think you’ll have fun when you start eating the produce that’s in season b/c it’s the best way to do it! winter is trickier but doing what you can is better than doing nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m also looking forward to trying new produce items that I’ve never had before and new recipes that I usually wouldn’t dare eat. I want to broaden my food horizons even more than I already have. JP is happy to eat whatever I cook, so that’s always a bonus! If not, there’s always B, my easiest critic.

      Like

  5. Great job! I absolutely admire this way of living. Unfortunately for me, the closest thing I am close to in regards to fresh, and sustainable meat and produce is that of Whole Foods. But its better than nothing. Great job and good luck on your journey!
    x Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, whatever you can do is great! I get Alaskan salmon, which can be surprising hard to source, from Whole Foods. I love the concept of the stores, but I find the prices to be exceptionally high. I want to be healthy and spend my consumer dollars positively, but I also don’t want to go bankrupt! Lol.

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

