30 Day Fitness Challenge: Week Two Summary

High Level Summary

I was a hot mess for the last couple of weeks. I caught JP’s summer flu with a vengeance and felt like I had been run over by a bus. I am happy to report that I am now able to move around without breaking into a cold sweat. Needless to say, I had to take some time away from my workouts to let my body rest and recover. Believe me, if there was any possible way for me to have worked out without going into a coughing fit (or, you know, passing out), I would have. I’m not going to let this minor setback discourage me though.

saturday-motivation-8

In my introductory post, I outlined my workout plan for the next 30 days. I’ve already completed Week One (where you can read my instructor reviews) and below you can read about the workouts from Week Two. My resounding feedback from Week One was that the workouts didn’t feel challenging enough. I was planning to add this challenge to my usual workout routine, but since I’m just getting over an illness, I held off on that.

Full disclosure: my recent anniversary with JP caused me to play around with the schedule for Week Two and Week Three. I needed to accommodate what would be convenient for me while still prioritizing my fitness journey. None of the workouts will be skipped, but the timing will definitely be rejigged! Sometimes life happens and we need to be flexible enough to set ourselves up for success (and for a butt like the one below).

Let me know if you have tried any of these workouts and what you thought of them!

woman-865120_640

Day Six
  • Day of rest due to illness
Day Seven
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout Cardio #2, Fat Burning

Instructor: Courtney Prather

Difficulty Level

  • This is a HIIT-based workout that, of course, focuses on the glutes. It consisted of 30 seconds of a cardio move followed by 15 seconds of rest (true to her repetitive coaching, Courtney reminds you take a drink of water at the start of every rest period while sounding quite out of breath herself)
  • I think the difficulty level of this workout is entirely up to you and how hard you choose to push. Courtney does provide beginner modifications for most exercises if you require them
  • A few of the moves did make my cough act up but I’m hoping that I’m sweating out the rest of my illness! For being only 10 minutes long, this was pretty solid workout

Pro Tip

  • The work periods are only 30 seconds and they fly by (really!). I tried really hard to push myself and I encourage you to do the same. If I can, you can too
30 Day Fat Burn: Total Body Shred

Instructors: Astrid McGuire and Danielle Pascente

Difficulty Level

  • One of the people in the background was doing beginner modifications this time around, so if you need to take the intensity down a level, there is an option for you to do so
  • Astrid and Danielle are not in sync during the first half of the video. They seem to be confused when to start each move, which is both awkward and distracting. If you can get past that, this is a decent cardio video that also incorporates some weight training

Pro Tip

  • I suggest having a couple of sets of dumbbells so that you can go heavier and lighter as required. My triceps are not very strong, so I decreased my weight during the “push” phase of that particular move. Next time, I won’t!
Day Eight
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #4, Dance Fit

Instructor: Courtney Prather

Difficulty Level

  • Let’s be honest, folks. I can’t dance nor do I really care to learn. I was relieved that there was no dancing in this video despite the title
  • I enjoyed this video, which was challenging without being difficult. What I mean by that is the moves were easy to follow, but the order that you had to do them in caused my butt to burn
  • A mini glute stretch was included at the end, which I think is important after such targeted moves

Pro Tip

  • If you are exercising on a hard floor, you will be able to use your towel as a prop easily. If you’re not, you should get a frisbee or plate ready so that it can slide along your carpet or mat (I realize this sounds weird…you’ll see!)
30 Day Fat Burn: Cardio Burn

Instructor: Astrid McGuire

Difficulty Level

  • This workout was so tough that I could almost ignore the fact that Astrid counted down almost every single repetition (so annoying!). The workout was cardio focused, but with weights (my favourite). I was quite tired by the end of it (not to mention sweaty) and pleased with myself for getting through it
  • A lot of the exercises were isolate to one muscle group (read: bicep curls without doing anything with your legs, such as lunges), which I generally hate because it’s less efficient. However, I was still pooped by the end, so I was happy to be incorrect about the intensity level

Pro Tip

  • If you are looking for a short workout that is still excellent, I suggest pairing this video with the Legs and Butt Shaper. So far, they are the toughest two videos from my challenge
Day Nine
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #5, Sexy Beach Body

Instructor: Alicia Marie

Difficulty Level

  • Alicia reminds us that many of the moves are from her book, so I guess even 10 minute workouts aren’t immune from shameless self-promotion
  • I enjoyed this workout, which included a lot of work in the thighs (both hamstrings and quads). The moves were basic but effective. Also, a short stretch was included at the end

Pro Tip

  • One move towards the end uses a kettle bell. You can use a dumbbell as a kettle bell, but if you’re like me and find that awkward, have your kettle bell ready
30 Day Fat Burn: Lower Body Blast

Instructor: Astrid McGuire

Difficulty Level

  • This was a solid workout that had me sweating and out of breath. My only complaint is that the cardio push in between each strength move stayed the same. There are so many different cardio moves that you can do, so I’m not sure why the same three were repeated throughout

Pro Tip

  • No beginner modifications or breaks were provided, so just work at your own pace. If you need a rest, just march in place for a 5 second beat and take a drink of water (now I sound like Courtney)
Day Ten
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout Cardio #3, Tabata

Instructor: Alicia Marie

Difficulty Level

  • I had never heard of tabata training before this workout, so I was pleased to try out a new (to me) HIIT program. However, I found it pretty repetitive and boring. I was also sad to see that it didn’t include weights, a chair, or any props like previous videos in the series

Pro Tip

  • Incorporating different workouts keeps your body guessing and you never know when you will be pleasantly surprised by a new discovery. This tabata video wasn’t it for me, but maybe it will be for you. I am definitely going to try it again (I have to because of the challenge, but I will also look up others)
30 Day Fat Burn: Total Body Shred

Instructor: Astrid McGuire and Danielle Pascente

Difficulty Level

  • I was surprised to see the same workout twice in one week. However, since I knew what was coming, I could decide when to push myself
  • See my comments under Day Seven
8 thoughts on “30 Day Fitness Challenge: Week Two Summary

  1. it is awesome to see that you are working on your fitness. it seems like you are having fun and getting better. That is the key to everything. Try to focus on breathing deeper during your workouts and it will give you more calorie burn and more energy. Have a great Day! happy exercising! God Bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. you are one determined person. i can’t pull myself together enough to do the workouts… but i do want to ride my bicycle.. in the city, that’s kind of scary, actually. plus, without a plan, it’s a little tricky. as i type that, i do remeber i have downloaded strava which is fantastic for stuff like that. perhaps i’ll get out after all…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Biking in the city IS scary. However, there are some nice trails around that aren’t on the road dodging cars and trucks.

      You should check out a couple of the videos though! They are so short that they aren’t that bad.

      Like

    1. I’m looking forward to following along with your challenge too! After this one is complete, I have a 90 day one that I’m going to try. I previewed some of the videos already and I am looking forward to getting started…well, I’m as excited as a normal person could be about working out…so more than going to the dentist but less than most other things 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

