30 Day Fitness Challenge: Week Three Summary

High Level Summary

Like I mentioned in my Week Two summary, I did modify my challenge to allow for an anniversary celebration with JP. All of the workouts are still included, I just changed the days that I did them. In fact, I scheduled three workout videos per day as opposed to two (or worse, one). So far, I think three is the sweet spot!

If you are new to my corner of the internet, you can read all about my fitness challenge in my introductory post. In my Week One summary, I review all of the instructors, which I don’t repeat in subsequent weeks to make my posts shorter for my regular readers (thank you for being regular readers!).

beach-754500_640

Day Eleven
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #6, Yoga

Instructor: Courtney Prather

Difficulty Level

  • Confession: I hate despise have a hard time with yoga. I know it’s good for me, especially because I’ve had back surgery, but I always struggle with it. I really dislike stretching in general despite knowing how important it is to recovery. When I saw the title of this video, I was filled with dread
  • However, this workout was simply yoga inspired, which is a similar approach to the dancer inspired workouts from earlier in the challenge that had no dancing required
  • My balance isn’t great and my core isn’t super strong, so I found this workout to be challenging and effective. I really enjoyed the mat work at the end though (circa 1980 Jane Fonda workouts)

Pro Tip

  • Complete the short cool down at the end and add in some extra stretches. I could already feel the burn the same day!
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #4, Brazilian Booty

Instructor: Courtney Prather

Difficulty Level

  • This was a kickboxing and capoeira inspired workout that I did not enjoy at all. I am not coordinated, so keeping track of the kickboxing sequences was a challenge for me
  • I found the capoeira very similar to tai chi, which I’ve never enjoyed because I simply feel awkward doing it. Courtney looked rather graceful throughout but I am quite positive that I did not

Pro Tip

  • Unless you enjoy martial arts inspired cardio workouts, I’d skip this one
30 Day Fat Burn: Legs and Butt Shaper

Instructor: Astrid McGuire

Difficulty Level

  • When I did this video in Week One, it was tough. In Week Three, it was still tough because I pushed myself even harder than last time. Once a workout becomes “easy,” then I think it’s time to move on (or up your intensity! You only get what you give)

Pro Tip

  • Once the workout videos start repeating in the challenge, try to beat your personal best for an extra sense of accomplishment (beyond actually getting through it, which you should also be proud of!)
Day Twelve
  • Day of rest
Day Thirteen
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #1, Tone Up

Instructor: Alicia Marie

  • See my comments under Day One
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout Cardio #1: Boot Camp

Instructor: Alicia Marie

  • See my comments under Day Two
30 Day Fat Burn: Cardio Crush

Instructor: Danielle Pascente and Astrid McGuire

Difficulty Level

  • This workout focused on abs with cardio mixed in. Danielle was supposed to be doing beginner modifications but she only did for a couple of exercises
  • Danielle and Astrid were promoting the fitbit throughout, which was a very awkward product placement. I suppose that’s expected in free videos but I felt like I was watching a cheesy infomercial

Pro Tip

  • I made my own modifications. If you also have challenges with your back, I encourage you to modify as well to avoid injury
Day Fourteen
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #2, Booty Booster

Instructor: Courtney Prather

  • See my comments under Day Three
30 Day Fat Burn: Toned Abs and Arms

Instructor: Astrid McGuire

Difficulty Level

  • I enjoyed the first half of the video, which was the arm portion. The exercises were simple to follow and you can make them as hard (or easy) as you want based on the dumbbells you choose
  • The second half was very tough for me because it was core focused. However, I powered through it (with modifications) since core strength is something I really need to work on. At least it was short enough that I didn’t become homicidal, which is always a bonus

Pro Tip

  • There is a lot of plank work, which I think would be challenging for a beginner. As far as my core goes, I’m a beginner so I know what I’m talking about! Work at your own level to avoid frustration and injury
30 Day Fat Burn: Maximum HIIT

Instructor: Danielle Pascente

Difficulty Level

  • Danielle is jacked and at the end of this video, she sounded close to death. That should give you an idea of the intensity if you really push yourself
  • I loathe jumping and the cardio portion of this video was all jumping jacks (in different variations), so that kind of sucked
  • Otherwise, my arms and core got a double hit because this video also targets those areas (in addition to some leg work for good measure)

Pro Tip

  • This is a HIIT workout, so despite being short, it’s intense. Beginner modifications aren’t provided, so you’ll need to create your own as required. If you need any suggestions, let me know!
Day Fifteen
  • Today was technically another rest day, but I felt that I only needed one this week. I did some active recovery walking around an outdoor antique market with JP and another couple
  • I also decided to do two videos from the Victoria’s Secret Model Workouts. I certainly don’t expect to look like a lingerie model after doing them, but they were still fun. I chose to do the:
  • Pros: the workouts are short, but I did feel they were effective. There is also a clock counting down how much longer you have for each exercise in the bottom corner, which is great if you ever feel like you want to give up
  • Cons: there is no warm up or cool down and a beginner modification is only provided for one exercise. Also, the cuing is awkward until you get used to it

We will be back to our regularly scheduled programming in my next challenge post. Thank you for reading!

27 thoughts on “30 Day Fitness Challenge: Week Three Summary

  1. We seem to be quite similar! 🙂 I am also very active on my vacation and strength train 5-6x a week (got myself 2x5kg weights and 2x10kg jugs of water :D). I am also swimming in the afternoon, so by the end of the day I am happy to be able to sit down for a minute (like right now :))
    Great job so far and keep it up!
    xoxo
    Deniza

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! You sound like you have a great plan in place. I wish that I had a pool and could take up swimming. It’s a fantastic way to exercise.

      Drinking water is something I’m working on improving at. I’m at about two liters per day, which is a huge improvement for me!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It might have something to do with th fact that I suck at both yoga and kickboxing. Simply put, I am just way too uncoordinated! I’m sure if I get better, I will enjoy both activities a lot more. Nobody wants to do something they suck at! Lol.

      Now that I reflect on it, I used to hate spin class when I first started and then I became addicted as I got good at it. Cycling was a huge part of my life for awhile but I never thought it would be. I suppose there is still hope!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am doing my best to stick with the program I’ve set out for myself, even on days when I’m really discouraged by how slowly things are moving. It seems to be an awful lot easier to gain weight than to lose it, lol. I always try and keep in mind, “a year from now, you will wish you had started today.” I can attest to that because I thought I would have already lost the weight that I needed to by now! I refuse to let it go on for another year, so I just have to keep plugging away 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s really sweet of you. I am also try really hard with combination of exercise and diet. Still somedays where I get demotivated but check my weight. I know I have to be patient and that’s what I am doing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The hardest part for me is eating right. It’s easy to work out for an hour a day, but what about the remaining 23 when I want to eat a brownie? I am pretty dedicated to scouring the internet for healthy recipes that actually taste good because I hate to feel deprived (and then I cheat!). My husband can’t even tell when I am cooking “my diet food” versus his “regular food” so I must be doing something right!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I really appreciate your comment. I have a 90 day fitness challenge that I’m starting in September, which I’m really excited about. I will also be blogging about that 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

