30 Day Fitness Challenge: Week Five Summary

High Level Summary

My workouts this week alternated between three and four videos per day. Similar to my last update, I am not going to repeat my reviews from previous weeks, but I have provided links to all of the videos I did so that you can follow along. What I would like to share this week is an overall pro tip: I recommend giving yourself a break in between workout videos, especially when they are HIIT based (or when you’re simply exhausted).

Depending on your fitness level, the break could be anywhere from 10 minutes (the perfect length of time to stretch your muscles and hydrate yourself!) to a few hours. The reason I suggest this is because it will be hard to give each video your best effort if you are exhausted when you start. I was able to push myself for every video, but I did take some time to catch my breath in between workouts. If you’re a beginner, you could also choose to do one challenge instead of combining two.

If you’d like to catch up on my challenge so far, you can refer to my:

My Brief Health Update

This week is my sixth and final week of doing this challenge. I will be starting a brand new 90 Day Fitness Challenge on September 1, which I am excited about. As I mentioned in my last update, my results are coming slower than I would like. I am not cheating on my diet or workout plan, so my explanation for this lag is that I have started new medication that will need some time to start working effectively.

I have a few health challenges going on at the moment, which I will write a post about at a later date. However, what I can tell you now is that my thyroid has been diagnosed as being underactive. My doctor has advised that the pills he has prescribed for me should get my metabolism working as it should be, which is a relief. Of course, I still need to do my part (eating right and being active). Thyroid medication is not a magic solution or diet pills.

Stay tuned! Thank you for following along.

Do you have any “pro tips” to share about working out? Let me know in the comments!

sea-view-678659_640

Day Twenty-One
  • Day of rest
Day Twenty-Two
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #1, Tone Up
  • See my comments under Week One
30 Day Fat Burn: Cardio Extreme
  • See my comments under Week One
30 Day Fat Burn: Total Body Shred
  • See my comments under Week Two
Day Twenty-Three
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #2, Booty Booster
  • See my comments under Week One
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout Cardio #1, Boot Camp
  • See my comments under Week One
30 Day Fat Burn: Cardio Burn
  • See my comments under Week Two
30 Day Fat Burn: Toned Abs and Arms
  • See my comments under Week Three
Day Twenty-Four
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #3, Firm Extreme
  • See my comments under Week One
30 Day Fat Burn: Maximum HIIT
  • See my comments under Week Three
30 Day Fat Burn: Legs and Butt Shaper
  • See my comments under Week Three
Day Twenty-Five
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout #4, Dance Fit
  • See my comments under Week Two
30 Day Butt Lift: Butt Workout Cardio #2, Fat Burning
  • See my comments under Week Two
30 Day Fat Burn: Cardio Crush
  • See my comments under Week Three
30 Day Fat Burn: Lower Body Blast
  • See my comments under Week Two
18 thoughts on “30 Day Fitness Challenge: Week Five Summary

  1. The thyroid medication when regulated will improve metabolic function, but this does not mean the weight will fall off. I mention this to prevent possible disappointment. Your approach to HEALTH (with RESULTING weight loss) will succeed at the speed your body deems appropriate. Do not become discouraged. Slow weight loss has a much higher degree of success in the maintenance phase. Stay positive, focused, and most of all, HAPPY.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! My doctor told me it should *help* with weight loss because I’ve been doing all the right things with very slow results. He said once my thyroid functions at the appropriate level, I should be able to lose weight faster (provided I keep doing what I’m doing…which I will!).

      I am trying to focus on the fact that I’m moving in the right direction, even if it’s slower than I’d like. I have a lot to be grateful for and happy about, such as my wonderful family and (relatively) good health. I am doing my best not to let my discouragement get the best of me this time! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m really mad at my previous GP who said my thyroid was “fine” despite reading th same report as my new GP who said I needed to be medicated immediately. That’s not the only thing my previous GP missed, so I’m so glad I switched.

      I appreciate the encouragement 🙂

      Like

  2. Did your doctor tell you whether or not you have Hashimotos? 90% of people with hypothyroidism do. If you have Hashimotos, synthetic thyroid hormone may or may not work. For me personally, it made things worse. Not trying to scare you, only to share my experience & arm you with information. Hopefully it works for you and you don’t experience years of struggling with worsening symptoms the way I did. For me, I had to completely overhaul my lifestyle – diet, exercise, food, and switched to non-toxic personal care, cosmetics, household cleaners, etc. That is actually what inspired me to start My Crazy Nontoxic Life.
    There are some really great online thyroid communities where you can find more information and read about other people’s experiences. I recommend Stop the Thyroid Madness, Mary J Shomon, Thyroid Mom, & Isabella Wentz.
    Everyone is different, so you may just fine on the medication your doctor prescribed. Best wishes to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have another appointment with my doctor this week, so I will ask him whether or not I have Hashimotos. Thank you for taking the time to share such valuable information and resources with me! I really appreciate it. I have another blood test coming up to see if there has been any improvement in my hormone levels. If not, I will have to explore other options. I’m really hoping that’s not the case as I’m dealing with several additional health challenges at the moment!

      Thank you for the well wishes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Some days are not easy, but I’m forcing myself to stick with it 🙂

      My next challenge is going to be very hard (and starts September 1st – eek!) so I’m scared, lol.

      Like

  3. Bravo to your enthusiasm for fitness young miss….. those dudes whom represent America ninja warriors have the ticket!….. best athletes in the world and the hard bodies to show for it!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

