T25 Focus Challenge

I have been interested in Shaun T’s Insanity program for awhile but I was hesitant to try it for several reasons. First and foremost, I was terrified of the intensity of the workouts, which I feared could kill me. Second, his programs are cost prohibitive and unavailable online (I’m not poor, I’m just cheap frugal). Finally, I was afraid I wouldn’t dedicate an hour or more each day to working out (which is terrible, I know, but let’s keep it real).

When I learned that Shaun T created the T25 Focus program, which is like Insanity Junior, I was very interested (but still not wanting to pay the high price tag). Essentially this 10 week program is an hour of work crammed into 25 minutes (read: brutally intense with no breaks) for 5 days a week. I love the efficiency of Shaun T’s method and I also admire the results participants’ reported after completing the program.

I am a deal hunter so I was able to find T25 Focus online for $40. And now the only thing standing in my way is me. I have spent the last few days telling myself that I’m not fit enough or strong enough to even try this condensed version of the program. In fact, I planned out two other 90 day challenges that I initially intended to complete before even attempting this one. In my case, it’s not my body limiting me or saying no, it’s my mind. I decided what I was and was not capable of before even trying.

So, guess what? My next fitness challenge is going to be Shaun T’s T25 Focus program. As for negative self talk? Fuck that.

26c0b363b2bd097b0b7d137bad92f47c

If you’d like a free preview of the type of exercises that I will be doing, check out Shaun T’s 15 minute workout that he did with Dr. Oz.

Wish me luck (I’m terrified)! I will post my Week One review next Monday, so stay tuned. In the meantime, I’d love to know if you have completed this program or a similar one, such as P90X or the real Insanity!

54 thoughts on “T25 Focus Challenge

  1. I’ve done Insanity, and I’m currently doing Max 30- I love it! I’m a BB coach, so I’ll be trying PiYo next… but then I want to do T25 after that. I can’t wait to try it! Do you have an accountability group yet? If you’re interested, I have one starting tomorrow- it’s free, and about half of us are doing BB programs (we have one new momma who is actually in the second month of T25- she would be an awesome resource for you)! If you want to join, leave me your email and I’ll send you signup info. We’d love to have you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m trying to deal hunt a copy of Max 30 as well! I think T25 is a good start for someone at my current fitness level and I’m glad that I was able to find it online (and that it actually worked!). I will work myself up to the harder programs (and actually look forward to trying them!).

      My blog is my accountability! I would definitely try out something a little more formalized though. My email address is: scarletpen@outlook.com

      Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You can do it!! I have done the program once, never completed the whole 10 weeks, but came pretty close. I really enjoyed it! 25 minutes is definitely doable and I enjoyed how each week the scheduled was switched up, keeping it from getting too repetitive. I plan on doing it again myself and completing in this time! And I love me some Shaun T!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the encouragement! I love the 25 minute time commitment and I’m hoping that I will love the results too. Shaun T is all kinds of awesome and I’m really excited to get started and let him kick my butt.

      Like

    1. I think a lot of times we set limitations for ourselves before actually trying something. A lot of times in my workout videos, I will just start off with the modification because I assume I can’t do the “real” version. Then I actually try it and realize that I can do it (at least for the first while!).

      Thank you for the encouragement! I am committed to making a change 🙂

      Like

  3. You can do it!! Best of luck to you!
    My husband and I were fortunate enough to attend the Beachbody Summit this year in Nashville & did the Focus T25 workout with Shaun T and it was awesome! Intense, but awesome. And – the live version was more like 45 minutes – we were drenched in sweat afterwards.
    Personally I have not completed Insanity, though I have tried a few of the individual workouts. Today I started Body Beast, though, which is another Beachbody program. It’s also 90 days. I’m hoping to tone up, especially my arms & upper thighs, so hopefully this weight-lifting program will get me there.
    We should both finish our programs around the same time. If necessary we can encourage each other along the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the encouragement! You are so lucky to have done a workout with Shaun T live (though I think I’d be terrified). I’d like to collect the Beach Body programs but they are really expensive. I’m actively deal hunting online though so hopefully I can continue to find them there. I like to always have my next fitness challenge ready to go well in advance.

      I’m definitely up for some e-motivation 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been on a program to get in shape for the past 8 months. I’m almost at my goal weight. Today I found your blog… I am soooo excited about it. I’ll be watching out for more amazing results from you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Congratulations! I’m thinking it will probably take me a year to reach my goal weight, but I’d definitely be okay with 8 months 😀 What program have you been doing?

      Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to comment. I’m enjoying your blog as well – your passion for teaching and genuine care for your students really shines through.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am working with a biokineticist and we change my program every 3 months to prevent muscle stagnation. Originally we did 3 months of fitness, then added weight training, and now we’re on body weight training. Good luck. I’ll watch out for you!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Don’t be terrified. The commitment to doing the program is THE most terrifying part. Do the program at a pace you can handle until you get comfortable with the routine. Failing is NOT a lack of ability to keep up; failing is not doing anything at all. You have accomplished so much already, this will be another trophy to mount on the wall for yourself. Stick with the 5 days and you WILL have already succeeded.

    Please accept my apology for not staying up on communicating. I have had to stay with my mother in hospice (in another state) in her final days and do not have time to read everyone’s posts. Things should return to normal when September ends.

    Wishing you all the success in the world. Hope AW is doing well as well. Say hello to her from me. If she ever has any questions (or you for that matter) my email address is JNCtheDC93@yahoo.com.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right (as usual!). I am going to get through the program no matter what and if I have to modify some of the moves, it’s still okay. At least I’m trying and giving it everything I have. I can only get better from here!

      I’m sorry to hear about your mother. My dad was on his way to a hospice, but he ended up dying in a regular hospital before he could get there. I’d like to volunteer at a hospice one day but it’s still a bit fresh for me emotionally to try it now.

      AW has found out that the one massive tumor in her chest is actually two smaller tumors. The chemo shrunk them down, which allowed them to see the two separate masses. Now they will need to radiate two areas instead of one so she’s feeling a bit down about that.

      Thank you for all the encouragement, support, and kindness! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I have done the 30 Day Shred before (and also Ripped in 30, which I prefer). I love Jillian Michaels but to be honest, I was getting bored of her DVDs (I think I have every single one, so that’s probably why, lol). If you check online, you can find most Beach Body programs way cheaper than the advertised price (I wouldn’t spend $200 on DVDs either!). I did the first video in the T25 program today and I can already tell you that it’s well worth it.

      Thank you so much for reading and following along 🙂

      Like

  6. Hello there,

    Yes… T25 is not the easiest thing, but then again, there is nothing you cant do once you put your mind (and body to) My advice, do not be overwhemed or intimidated. Those people in the video are experts, way ahead of us. There is no hard or fast rule about being with them or having to do as you can. I suggest you go at your pace – if you cant do 30 secs… do 10 secs BUT MAINTAIN PROPER FORM to avoid INJURY.

    Do a trial of the T25 first time round and keep a progress sheet. Second time round try and beat your personal best… do it as many times till you get to their standards…

    XX

    Like

    1. Thank you for your wise words and encouragement!

      I don’t even try to compare myself to Shaun T and his crew…just look at them! Of course they can do these crazy videos and barely sweat. However, Shaun T also makes his living through fitness and a regular person like me will never be at his level. BUT that doesn’t mean I can’t get better and continue to beat my own personal best.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. This is awesome! You Go Girl!
    I have done/am still working on this program. Honestly I do love it. The program is great and if you feel like its too difficult my motto is ‘ do what you can, its better than nothing’ if that makes sence. If its a bad day for me, I just make sure to get through the work out…even if I have to take it easy, it is better than no work out at all.
    Anyways good luck girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Congrats on almost being done! That will be a nice feeling. Are you following the meal plan? I am going to try out some of the recipes, but I’m not following it per say. I do eat clean though (well, for the most part).

      Thank you for the encouragement! 🙂 No matter what, I am going to get through these 25 minute workouts. I may not be able to do the advanced versions of all of the moves, but I’m sure going to try.

      Like

      1. What I love about these workouts is that there is a modifier in every video. I love her. I do pretty much all my workouts with the modifier. Sometimes I modify them even more if I really need to. From day 1 when I could barely do the modified version to now where I can do everything she does…it makes me really proud of myself.
        I all not following the meal plan but I do count calories and carbohydrates. I use my fitness pal to help with that.

        Like

    1. Thank you! I’m determined to get through it no matter what.

      I just looked Ashley up…she lives on a remote, tropical island so she trains on white sand beaches and in the ocean. I think I’m jealous of her body AND her location. Some people have all the luck 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I didn’t finish T25 but I did try it. It was challenging but those 25mins flew by. I made it to the 6th week and was checking ‘barely made it’ for the last couple weeks, lol. But, I always felt so accomplished after I finished it, even when I followed Tania (modifier) LOL.

    You’ll do fine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How come you didn’t finish it? 6 weeks is almost at the end! Was it getting boring by then? I do hate repetitive videos, but I figure 2 months won’t be too bad.

      Thank you for the encouragement 🙂

      Like

      1. YW, no it wasn’t boring at all, I strained a muscle in an unrelated incident, took some time off, and just never went back to it, lol. Honestly, I don’t think I was ready for Beta yet, should have re-done Alpha and probably would have been more motivated to get back to it after I healed.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve done the P90x3 (the 30 min one) and enjoyed it. There was a lot of variance in how hard the activities were but I’m sure that has to do with skill as well. For example, there was a day where the whole 30 mins pretty much involved holding a weight, that was tough on me!!! I enjoyed the more martial arts and cardio based days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m considering P90X3 next, but I think I will end up with Insanity Max 30. I am in love with Shaun T! I also heard that the P90X series contains chins up and that sounds dreadful.

      Congrats on doing it and getting through it! A lot of people start and don’t finish, so go you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Before my baby was born almost a month ago, I had completed 3 weeks of IMAX30, and fell in love with it. I’m not in the best shape, and hadn’t worked out at such an intensity in years. There are modified versions of all the exercises in the videos that are less intense, but not too easy to keep up with, making sure you sweat hard, regardless of how you follow.

    I also joined an accountability group like another person commented that really helps to keep me motivated. Once my baby starts to follow a set routine, I’m starting the program over because I like it that much.

    After 3 weeks, along with clean eating, and drinking gallons upon gallons of water, I fit into clothing I couldn’t fit into in quite a while. IMAX30 is the truth!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I am going to do Insanity Max 30 next. It’s only 5 minutes per workout longer than T25 but it looks exceptionally harder overall. I think Shaun T is amazing and a good instructor can keep you motivated to finish a program. He’s such a fantastic coach and even though I want to punch him in the face sometimes (probably not advisable), I keep coming back for more.

      I am drinking about 3 liters of water per day. It was really hard at first but now it’s just second nature. It’s crazy how quickly your body can adapt to whatever you throw at it (and from now on, I’m only throwing good things). Your 3 week progress really inspires me! That’s hardly any time at all to see such significant changes, so good for you! Also, congrats on the new addition 😀

      Here’s hoping baby gets on a schedule ASAP so you can join the insanity with me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

