Delicious Bran Muffins

Using “delicious” and “bran” in the same sentence sounds like an oxymoron, but I promise these muffins are actually tasty! They can be used as a breakfast alternative or as a snack. I don’t know about you, but if I don’t have healthy snacks on hand, then I’m reaching for the unhealthy variety to avoid that hangry feeling (when hungry meets angry, I become a real peach. Just ask JP). It’s also easy to skip breakfast on busy mornings, so these muffins are a quick fix and easy to eat on your morning commute.

Honey Coconut Blueberry Bran Muffins

Unfortunately I can’t take credit for this concoction, which I found on Skinny Taste. Gina is one of my favourite food bloggers. She provides excellent recipes that are “lightened up” while still being delicious. I encourage you to check out her blog if you haven’t already. I will be amazed if you can’t find a recipe that you want to make. Her creations are in my kitchen every week!

Ingredients
  • 1 cup of wheat bran
  • 1-1/2 cups of white whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup of sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or skim)
  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tablespoon of coconut oil (or canola)
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 12 ounces of blueberries

Pro tip: add a teaspoon of cinnamon for a little extra spice

Directions

Preheat your oven to 400°F.  Line a muffin tin with 16 liners.

Combine the wheat bran, wheat flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Stir in the nuts and coconut.

In a separate bowl, blend the applesauce, almond milk, honey, coconut oil, vanilla, and egg.  Add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients and stir just until moistened. Fold in blueberries.

IMG_6435 IMG_6425

Spoon the mixture into paper-lined muffin cups and bake for 18-20 minutes (or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean).

IMG_6452

Makes 16 muffins.

IMG_6474

I made a double batch of these muffins so that I could freeze some, which is what I almost always do. Do you bake (or cook) in bulk?

39 thoughts on “Delicious Bran Muffins

    1. Anything convenient in the morning helps me SO much. I leave the house and come back on average of three times…I’m the most forgetful person on the planet in my personal life, but seem to have my work life together. I guess you only get one, lol.

      Like

  1. what a great recipe! blueberries are actually in season right now so when i head to the farmers’ market, i’m going to pick up the wild ones (which are even better than the ones you get in the grocery store!!).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard that wild blueberries are smaller than the grocery store variety and much better for you. Don’t forget about B when you’re picking up fresh fruit 😉

      Also, I’m not sure that “morning quickie” is going to attract the right kind of reader, lol! They might be disappointed when they realize I’m referring to muffins.

      Like

      1. they’re teeny in comparison but are little bundles of flavour and nutrients! picking them can be risky business though… b/c your’e competing with bears. *shrug*

        you want to get people’s attention… so why not put out there what sells: the potential for a morning quickie!

        p.s. i’m sure someone would comment and say “i’d like to put my hands on YOUR muffins!”. (too far…? too late! posted.)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Gina is one of my favourite food bloggers too! Love Skinny Taste and you’re so right, there’s really nothing you can’t find there. I really want her book, even just for the pretty pictures of food all through it lol Can’t wait to try this recipe! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought about buying her book too! I’ve read so many reviews of it (I always over research everything, lol) and the resounding feedback was that the book recipes are more challenging, time consuming, and contain obscure ingredients compared to her website recipes. I order everything on Amazon, but I will need to actually go check this one out in a bookstore before I commit to it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I had no idea, that’s good to know then. I clearly did not research before and just saw a preview of the pretty pictures and thought “sold!” haha

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I like your approach! My doctor says to eat for nutrients AND to try and choose food that doesn’t taste good. His theory is that if you’re eating food you don’t like, you will eat less. I can understand the approach, but I really don’t agree. I’d sooner exercise portion control of healthy food that I actually enjoy eating!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

