T25 Focus Challenge: Week One

As I mentioned in my introduction post, I was nervous to start the T25 Focus challenge. I am happy to report that I got through Week One relatively unscathed, which is great because I wasn’t sure that I would get through it at all.

Disclaimer: This post is long because it is the first one for the alpha phase. I promise that the rest of this phase will have shorter posts because these same five videos repeat throughout (read: I will have less to say).

High Level Summary

For my current fitness level, which can be best described as “not very fit” on a good day, T25 was a really tough program. I’m glad that I started with it instead of the “real” insanity or one of the more challenging Beachbody programs (which I am currently deal hunting online).

I assumed I’d need to use modifications the entire time or just, you know, sit down for awhile. But that didn’t happen. I was really proud of myself because while every workout left me drenched in sweat and feeling challenged, I stuck with it for the entire 25 minutes (that may not sound like long, but trust me – it can feel like forever when you’re working hard).

Pros
  • Shaun T is an awesome, inspiring, and motivating trainer
  • The timer on the bottom of the screen counts down how much time is left and tells you what move is coming next
  • There are beginner modifications for almost every move and a cool down is included after each workout
  • A meal plan (with recipes) is included with the program. I am not following the meal plan, but I am eating clean (for the most part). I will definitely try out (and post) some of the recipes though!
Cons
  • I could have done without the Beachbody product pushes. I don’t think advertisements should be included with products that I paid for
  • The program could have fit on one disc but instead it is on 10. Talk about annoying to travel with!
  • The “case” the DVDs come with is just a cardboard box. The DVDs are wrapped in plastic, but wrapping them up and putting them back into cardboard slots gets old fast. You’d think for the cost, proper cases would be included
  • Many of the moves in the videos are repeated, which can get a bit boring
Overall Pro Tips
  • There is a lot of jumping involved in these routines. Make sure that you take the time to stretch out your calves and hip flexors at the very least
  • The workouts are tough, but try to do at least some of the advanced modifications even if you have to go back to the beginner versions. You’ll be proud of yourself that you did!

For a more detailed review of each day of the program, read below. Let me know in the comments if you would consider trying the T25 Focus program!

change-challenge

Each day, you are asked to select whether you nailed it or barely made it. This is for comparison sake later in the program or if you ever decide to do the program again (HAHA!). I think a third option, almost died, should be included as well (let’s keep it real).

Unfortunately I can’t provide the links to the videos, but I can suggest that you check out sites like Kijiji and Craig’s List to try and find gently used copies (read: people who got through half of one workout and gave up). I can also provide you with links to the T25 Focus workout schedules, give you my personal daily score, and provide a brief review for each workout so that you can decide if investing in the program is worth it for you.

Day 1: Cardio

This workout was comprised of simple moves in challenging sequences. It is very possible to get through it though and I really pushed myself to do the advanced versions of the moves (though I confess to modifying at least a few repetitions of almost every move).

I rate myself with barely made it because I was not able to do the advanced modifications the whole time (and I was completely exhausted! I got through it but it was not easy for me).

Day 2: Speed 1.0

This workout was more intense than yesterday’s routine. However, while the program advertises “no breaks,” that’s not really true; a lot of moves are designed to give you a breather, including stretches built right into the workout.

I rate myself with barely made it again since I had to modify more often today than I did yesterday.

Day 3: Total Body Circuit

This was the hardest cardiovasuar workout of the week. The folks in this video are jacked and there were puddles of sweat on the floor. Imagine how I, a self-described non-jacked person, fared. Hint: it was not pretty and JP actually asked if I was dying. I yelled at Shaun T, but I’m happy he made me work so hard.

I rate myself with barely made it. Are you noticing a pattern? On the bright side, I did make it. Barely still qualifies, right?

Day 4: Ab Intervals

My regular readers know that I have an extremely weak core due to back surgery. The moves in the workout today were the most challenging of the week in terms of form and actually being able to get through them. I modified pretty much throughout and I hope that as I continue with the program, I will notice a difference in my core strength and stability.

You will (not) be surprised to learn that I barely made it again.

Day 5: Cardio and Lower Focus

This program advertises 25 minute workouts per day. However, on the fifth day of the week, you are asked to do two videos consecutively (you can choose to do one on your rest day but I wanted a day off). On the bright side, one of the videos was a repeat from Day One, so I knew what to expect.

Fifty minutes of crazy intense workouts? Yup, you guessed it: barely made it.

Day 6: Rest

Today was a day of rest, which I happily took. I totally nailed the rest day!

Day 7: Stretch

There is a stretching video, which I unfortunately didn’t complete. I was battling a migraine for most of the week and it really got the better of me over the weekend. I know how important stretching is, so I am going to make a point to do the stretching video next week no matter what!

My Week Two update will be next Monday! Stay tuned.

27 thoughts on “T25 Focus Challenge: Week One

  1. This post made me so happy!! You go girl!
    When I got through Alpha round I found near the end my stamina had changed. I always stay with the modifier (because of early onset arthristis of the feet and bad knees) but by the end of Alpha I found I could do the workouts without puking or feeling like I was literally dying lol Which I agree with you, you do feel like that after (and during) some of the workouts.
    I am just so happy that you made it through each one! Good for you!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement!

      I am looking forward to the day when I can do these videos without wondering if I’m going to die, lol. I’m really eager to see the changes that my body will make after sticking to a program of this intensity for 70 days (and, of course, continuing to clean up my eating habits because you can’t outwork a bad diet).

      I remember early on in my fitness journey when Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred felt brutally hard to me. In fact, after doing Day 1, I took a nap! That program is NOTHING compared to this one and I was able to get through it, so I know that I’ve already come a long way.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m hoping to get into a routine where I can workout early in the morning too. It would be so nice to get it over with early in the day so that I don’t have to worry about it after I get home from work. There are seriously not enough hours in the day! Or, maybe I just like to sleep in too much.

      Thank you for reading! 🙂

      Like

  2. I had always been put off Insanity (the name doesn’t help!!) but T25 sounds much more achievable- I think I would definitely be in the “barely made it” camp too, so it’s great to hear that you have got through the first week. Please let us know how you get on as the programme progresses. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am actually eager to try Max 30 after this program, which is a 30 minute version of Insanity (T25 is only 25 minutes, as the name suggests). I think as long as you’re bringing everything you have to your workouts, it doesn’t matter if you barely made it…at least you did it! I’m happy to have made it at all.

      Thank you for reading my updates 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I’m sure once you have been doing the T25 for a little while the Max30 would be more than achievable. I know exactly what you mean: no matter how hard a workout is, it always feels so good once you have done it. Keep up the good work- in the gym and on the blog! X

        Like

    1. Thank you! This whole health and fitness journey is so much harder overall than I thought it would be. Working out is easier for me than eating well…I love food that tastes good and has no nutritional value. I fight cravings A LOT but I am going to stick with my program this time.

      Like

  3. this post was hilarious! i’m glad you (barely) made it for the most part. did you know though, about the double up day? that seems like false advertising on shaun t’s part. you don’t really get a rest day if your’e doing double the work one of the days…

    really suggest yoga for core strengthening! especially the more fast paced versions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t know about the double workout day until I read inside the box. I suppose I could have looked harder at the schedules and what the program entailed, but I was sold when I saw “Shaun T” and “25 minutes a day.” Impulse buy! Maaaaybe I will get double results on Fridays? 😀

      I’m not a huge yoga fan but I am loving pilates. It’s very hard for me, but I think it will be well worth it at the end.

      Like

  4. I have “attempted” T25 before and I love it. I say attempted because I think I was always 1 rep behind Shaun T haha.. You have described week 1 the same exact way I would have! Keep up the good work girl. Oh and I also would like to see the “almost died” option 🙂 good luck this week!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like I’m at least 5 reps behind him at all times, but especially with burpees. I’ve never done so many burpees in my life and I hope that I never do again…Shaun T can certainly do them rather quickly!

      Now that I’ve done all of the alpha videos at least once, my focus will be on leaving the modifications behind and being able to say that I “nailed it” at least once before the end.

      Thank you for the encouragement!

      Like

  5. Oh my I so love your determination and discipline. If I were to do this at home… I won’t be able to… the bed is too tempting to sit and just watch them do all the work. I prefer going to the Gym because otherwise I will procrastinate and won’t do anything.

    But your post encourage me to give it a try. Thank you very much for this Scarlet. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I only like to workout at home, I hate the gym. I prefer to workout alone (no one watching) and to fit exercise into my schedule whenever it’s convenient. I also commute each day for work, so I’d have to lug so much extra stuff with me if I went to the gym (no fun on the train). I can see how it would be more tempting to do something else at home though! I never actually WANT to exercise, I just force myself to.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Shaun T really IS insane. I’ve never loved and hated someone so much at the same time in my life! I tried to go into these workouts with a clear mind and just think that whatever he asks me to do, I’m at least going to try. Normally I just assume that I can’t or that something looks too hard, but this time I really just gave it my all. I’m hoping that he is the coach I need to inspire some serious body transformation!

      Thank you for the support 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

