T25 Focus Challenge: Week Two

I met with my doctor this week about my thyroid health and we discussed my current weight loss and fitness goals. I am going to try and convey what he said to me because I think it could help others in a similar position. Please excuse my lack of scientific awareness though; this is explained in laymen’s terms at their very best. Of course, I am not giving you medical advice, just sharing a personal anecdote.

My doctor explained that the body is resistant to change. While being fat isn’t healthy for me, my body has become used to it. I have started to change my eating and exercise habits, but my body is uncertain about what’s coming next. As such, it may opt to hold onto its fat stores just in case. Once my body realizes that my current lifestyle has become the new status quo, it will be more willing to let go of the fat.

The body is smart. I’m just hoping that I can be smarter. What does this have to do with T25? Well, these workouts aren’t any easier the second time around. They are designed to be challenging and they certainly are. However, despite how hard I’m working, the weight is still coming off very slowly. This is the perfect storm for getting frustrated and giving up. I know because I’ve been there. But I’m not going to do that this time and neither should you.

My discussion with my doctor ended on a positive note. He encouraged me to keep going and just be patient. In addition to how smart the body is, my body is also struggling through thyroid issues. My weight loss journey is going to be slow and it’s going to be fraught with complications. But that’s okay. I am going to stick with it and eventually the weight will come off. Do I wish it could be faster? Absolutely. Am I going to let that stop me? Absolutely not.

My doctor said that one of his patients (who he didn’t name, of course) was also struggling to lose weight. The scale hadn’t budged for months and then, all of a sudden, this patient lost a bunch of weight all at once. Her body was finally ready for the change she was working so hard for. Everyone’s journey and progress is going to look a bit different and there is no “one size fits all” approach. All you can do is persevere and know that your hard work will pay off.

My scores for this week are below. I’d love to know how you stay motivated on your weight loss journey!  

b728db0a284eb87a4b65a6250b32b861

Day 8: Cardio

In between the barely made it and nailed it options, I think there should be an almost made it choice. I only had to modify this workout at the end when I was very tired. Otherwise, I was thisclose to getting there.

Verdict: barely made it

Day 9: Total Body Circuit

Last week, this was the hardest workout of the week and I stand by that comment.

Verdict: barely made it

Day 10: Speed 1.0

I really like this video and I was close to not having to modify, but I’m not there yet.

Verdict: barely made it

Day 11: Cardio

This is the same video as the first day of the week but after doing other workouts in between, I didn’t find it to be any easier.

Verdict: barely made it

Day 12: Lower Focus and Ab Intervals

I was feeling incredibly frustrated and unmotivated by the last day of the week. I wanted nothing to do with Shaun T or a new lifestyle. I simply wanted the weight to finally come off already. However, I sucked it up, did the videos, and just kept reminding myself that it will pay off eventually.

Verdict: barely made it

600245_342934452447270_956971053_n

Day 13: Rest

I’ve never loved rest days as much as I do since introducing Shaun T into my life.

Day 14: Stretch

I didn’t follow Shaun T’s recommended stretch again (I know, I know), but I did stretch.

57 thoughts on “T25 Focus Challenge: Week Two

  1. My story is similar to yours. The weight does not come off easily or quickly for me either. Being a type 1 diabetic, my doctor has assured me that it will take approximately 5 years to loose the 60 or so pounds that I need to loose. It took me a while to be ok with that, but I am now. I know that in 5 (or however many) years it will be easier to keep that weight off and I am much happier with that idea. I am not putting a definite time restraint on my weight loss journey. However long it takes is how long it takes. Its taken me 6 months to loose 15 pounds…but you know what? On the days (or sometimes weeks) that I go without doing a rigorous workout routine or the nights (or weekends) that I eat whatever I want without counting my calories…my weight does not go back up, it stays the same.

    And for you…T25 feels aweful for the first few weeks. It does not get easier (at least it didnt for me) by the 2nd or 3rd week. BUT by the end of my 5th week I was thinking.. WOW this seems too easy now. I was still doing most of the modified but I couldnt wait until Beta Round at that point.

    Like I said, it took me all of 5 weeks to get to that point but it was worth it. I was proud of myself for sticking through it and I am proud of YOU for getting through the 2 weeks so far. I hope you get to feel that feeling too. You will make it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That would be very hard news to hear! It’s difficult to get to a point where you don’t care how long it takes to lose the weight so long as you do it. I’m not there yet. I want things to happen a lot faster than they are and I have to consciously remind myself that even if the scale only goes down half a pound, at least it’s moving in the right direction. It’s more of a mental/emotional battle than a physical one and it can very disheartening and frustrating.

      You’re lucky in that you can have some “cheat time” and not see a reflection in your weight. I definitely can’t do that. I need to work hard at it every day (and even behave eating wise on my rest days) or else I am amazed at how fast the scale can move in the wrong direction. I’m not depriving myself completely, but I am working really hard at making this a lifestyle change and not something temporary. Once it becomes a habit to make good choices, it will be a lot easier (I hope!).

      I am trusting you and I can’t wait until the day I can tell Shaun T that his workouts are easy! Thank you 🙂

      Like

      1. Its not that I dont care how long it takes, there are so many days that I am so frustrated because Ive eatten great and worked my ass off and the scale hasnt moved in 2 weeks. Its more that, I have resigned myself to the fact that it will take me so long. If I didnt wrap my head around it…I feel like I would have quit a long time ago.
        It took me a long time to be able to maintain my weight on weekends when I dont work out. I dont binge, I always watch what Im eating. There are just days that I eat more than I thought I would (my period being the week that I eat a little more lol). It does take some time to form the habit, and sometimes you slip back into old routine, but hopefully withing a few weeks or months you really start to notice that the life style change is easier for you.
        And you will get there! I dont think I have ever told Shaun T that his workouts are easy BUT the difference I noticed was that I wasnt SO out of breath at the end of the workout or I could actually get through the entire workout without wanting to puke lol Thats when I knew I could move on to the next level.
        Good luck girl and keep us posted! You are doing great.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you so much for sharing this, thirdgenerationmommy! I feel so stuck after losing the initial 25 pounds in 4 months and now losing nothing at all for the next 4 months (even though I’m eating quite clean, no sugar, no grains for 8 months and counting). It feels so good to hear about five years! Takes the pressure right off. I feel great and am very active, so I shouldn’t really put any time restraints on the last 60 pounds or so, and it really helps knowing that it’s not always quick and easy for others as well.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You are so welcome! 25 pounds is an incredible feat, definitely feel proud of that accomplishment.
        If you read my post ‘The Goals for my Future’ I lay it all out there that basically say, you cannot put time constraints on a life change. You will get there, try your best to be patient (even though I KNOW its hard). I always try to look at life in a positive way. Keep going, you are doing great!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am doing exercise and diet for past 1 month but didn’t loose even 1 pound. My doctor said I have pcod problem so it’s difficult to loose but I shouldn’t stop exercising. Let’s hope for the best for all of us.
    All the best to all of us

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When you don’t see results, it’s so tempting to give up, isn’t it? It’s not working anyway, so why bother? That thinking is dangerous though because we are SOCLOSE to getting there, we just need to keep pushing through…and the scale be damned!

      Good luck to you as well. We can both get there 🙂

      Like

  3. Congratulations on your hard work and rededication to health and fitness!

    Weight loss is such a reward for many of us when we start dieting and working out, isn’t it? We know about muscle growth, and we’ve heard that that can play havoc with our weight loss goals. We’re told to just go by how we feel……how our clothes feel, how we have more energy. And it’s all true. It’s all well and good.

    But we still want to see the results on the almighty weighing scale 🙂

    Your doctor is right though. A lot of times our bodies plateau. And it is frustrating as all get out. But I look at it as a proving ground. An initiation if you will. Let’s say I’m stuck at 151 lbs. I know that if I can hang in there and prove myself through my diet and exercise, that eventually I will be granted membership into the 140’s club. One day I will wake up and find myself staring at the number 149 on the scales. We all live for these sorts of moments.

    Your time will come. You’re working too hard for it not to!

    Keep up the good work and the great writing 🙂
    Rod

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t WANT to worship the scale, but unfortunately, I do! I tell myself that it doesn’t matter if the numbers move every week…I can see changes in my body so I know that what I’m doing it working. But it does matter! I don’t know why, but it does! I need that scale validation.

      I know that this is the time that a lot of people give up (I’ve definitely done it in the past). But I know that if I do that, I will be even more frustrated with myself (plus on the way back to being unhealthy). I don’t want all of my hard work thus far to be for nothing.

      Thank you for the encouragement (and for reading). It’s much appreciated 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I can hear the legitimate frustration. I agree with your doctor’s sentiments. In simple terms, the body doesn’t understand whether this new lifestyle is purposeful or the result of severe limitations imposed on the body. It’s innate response is to protect. This is good, except for the fact you don’t want it to behave this way at this time. It will hold on to every calorie it can for a period of time until it can “learn” that your lifestyle is purposeful and beneficial. As the thyroid becomes regulated, communication throughout the body improves as well. If you stay focused on HEALTH rather than WEIGHT, you will continue to see improvement that will help keep you motivated. This is a lifelong commitment to yourself. In times of stress or other circumstances that create a feeling of weakness, always have that “SOMETHING” you can turn to; redirecting your focus away from poor choices back toward positive feelings and other helpful emotions. Each person’s “SOMETHING” is different and only you can determine what it is for you. Be patient and maximize the joy each day offers. Remember, you have the opportunity of TODAY!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right – I’m not feeling like myself and I am definitely frustrated with this leg of my journey! I wanted to keep it real though and let people see all sides of this challenging path to good health and fitness. It’s not all rainbows and butterflies!

      I definitely DO want to be healthy but its also nice when the metrics match the work you’re doing. I am starting to look a bit more like my old self again, so I just thought the scale would reflect that. It was disappointing when it didn’t.

      You have good advice though – I need to try and be positive, live in the moment, and focus on what makes me happy. For the most part, I do. However, I still want that scale to move or else I’m liable to throw it against the wall 😉

      Like

  5. I am going to have fun following this! I am a beachbody coach and the #1 thing that inspires me is when there is a medical need and people are able to achieve their health goals without medication – because they believe in it! Also, my favorite text to send my husband through the duration of Alpa – Nailed It – JK almost died.

    PS Do the stretch video – it’s my all time favorite and I revert back to it before I have a running event

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awesome read and you will do this!
    I feel the same so often and I fall off the wagon or run to “quick fixes” (she says after day one of a cleanse course!!).
    I love that your doctor told you what’s up, not to give up and that everyone is different. we are so often told to believe that we are “wrong” if we do not react in the same way others do to food / exercise.

    Sounds like a killer workout week, do those stretches though!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my case, I don’t have a lot of choice as my weight is impacting my overall health and well-being. I made the decision to change and it was like flicking a switch – being healthy (or trying) is part of my day now 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Good read!
    Smart thing you are having a good relationship with your doctor. A lot of people neglect the fact that the doctor can be very helpful, especially when your are trying to change something wrt diet. I am getting my blood analysed every 3 month just in order to see trends.
    Main reason is being a powerlifter on a ketogenic diet isn’t considered “normal” within the powerlifting community, but it is best way to reduce the bodyweight in the means of fat percentage. I started 29. january when I was weighing 118kg. I simply cut down all the carbs and increased the fat to approx 55-60% of the total energy intake. The results being that I am now 104kg, strength has gotten back where it was. My headache has disappeared and my crawings for this and that has stopped too.
    My doctor has been carefully monitoring the results and truth be told, the colesterol level has decreased by increasing my fat content. This is mostly due to the reduced carb intake, which is actually turned in to bodyfat if not being used.

    Not sure what your doctor has advised, but any diet should be something you could live on for the rest of your life. It is not supposed to be a quick fix, but something you actually live on.

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!

      I agree that preventative medicine is so important. I meet with my doctor regularly to try and fix the health issues that I have as well as prevent any new ones from occurring.

      It sounds like your diet is a bit like paleo? I have a few friends who follow that approach. I tried it and lasted about a week. I cannot consume that much meat! Lol. I agree that whatever diet you choose needs to be sustainable for the long haul.

      If quick fixes worked, no one would be fat!

      Like

      1. Don’t know if it is Paleo, but the main thing is that I avoid refined carbs and especially flour, potato, pasta and rice has completely been removed. I am huge on dairy products and meat so the protein and fat content is very high. Moreover, I eat greens and vegetables and they serve as a filler and helps on the digestion.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It was a nightmare the first 2 weeks, but now it is no problem. Most importantly I got rid of my headache and lost roughly 15kg of bodyfat. My wife started as well on the diet and have lost weight. I am not sure if it works for everyone and I guess there is a lot of trial and error in order to find the diet that suits lifestyle and other conditions

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for sharing your story. I lost 25 pounds over one year with the slow carb diet – four hour body – and daily workouts. Now it is all about maintaining this weight. I am curious about T25. Can’t seem to see the video links that are mentioned. I will Google – but please share – thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats on your weight loss! I love to hear success stories to keep me going until I get there too 🙂

    Unfortunately, T25 isn’t available online (unless you pirate it from somewhere, which I didn’t do). I did provide a link in my T25 introduction post to a sample video that Shaun T did on the Dr. Oz show. It gives a sense of what the workouts are like: https://lifeat28andcounting.wordpress.com/2015/09/07/t25-focus-challenge/

    I feel like this program is very intense for someone just maintaining weight loss. I am actively trying to lose weight, so I need workouts that nearly kill me 😉

    Like

  10. I lost the majority of my weight at a rate of about one pound per week. The first 50 were the easiest. After that, I noticed a trend of weeks going by with nothing to show for it and then suddenly my weight would drop by 2 lbs. A lot of this has to do with reestablishing your body’s natural setpoint. (It helps to think of it like a thermostat in a room.) Once you set a new weight as a goal it will take time and effort and there will be setbacks but if you stay commited you will succeed! Our society has fallen victim to the lure of fast and easy results that the popular media promotes. When we don’t look like a professional athlete or fitness model after a few weeks we conclude that we are the problem. What type of treatments are you trying for the thyroid issues? I usually recommend kelp as a natural source of iodine for my clients with these issues. In populations where seaweed consumption is higher, this is virtually unheard of. (Fortunately seaweed is available in capsules!) I’d like to know what you have tried and how it’s working for you. Keep striving for your best and inspiring others!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope it doesn’t take me that long. We are putting off trying to conceive (or even talking about it) until I get down to a healthy weight. At this point, I can’t even consider pregnancy as an option, which is frustrating because I’m not getting any younger here!

      I know that after 30 days, I’m not going to have a supermodel’s body. However, I did think with hard, consistent work (including exercising and eating well) that the weight would be coming off faster. It certainly doesn’t take very long to put on! Hopefully after a few more weeks with Shaun T, I will see the scale budge a little.

      I am on medication for my thyroid. I go to get my hormone levels re-tested in early October, so we’ll see if it’s working or if the dosage needs to be adjusted. I really haven’t done anything else. Unfortunately I have a lot of health issues going on and this is just one. I’m hoping I’ve dealt with it through medication.

      Like

    1. I’ve never tried Shaun T’s stretching video, so it’s nothing against him…I just don’t like stretching in general. However, this Sunday I have committed to doing the video (as much as I don’t want to).

      Like

  11. Keep up the great work! When I started my weight loss journey I knew that if I looked at the entire amount I needed to lose I would be overwhelmed so I took it in 10lbs chunks and that was easier to focus on. The other thing I focus on currently is all the wonderful things I can now do because I am fit. Hiking is probably one of my favorite pastimes because I can see the wonders of nature that you can’t see except on foot. One of the first trips my husband and I went on after I had lost 120lbs was to Machu Picchu, to date it was the most remarkable and memorable place I have ever seen but I’m not sure I would have enjoyed it as much had I not spent all that time preparing for the trip by using the stairmaster at the gym on a daily basis. I’m still not fond of that machine but I love the places I see because of it. Keep on working it but focus on the fitness, weight will come off when it’s ready.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just read your story on your blog – wow!

      It’s very inspiring that you lost so much weight and changed your life. Was the stair master the only exercise that you did? Maybe I need to buy one…now…lol!

      I am trying my best to focus on the fitness component but, like you, being overweight is impacting my life (including being able to try to conceive) so it’s hard not to be discouraged when the weight doesn’t come off. I want changes in my life too, and they won’t happen being the weight that I am. It’s hard to stay upbeat when that’s the case!

      Thank you for sharing your story 🙂

      Like

      1. Hi Scarlet, I did a lot more exercise than stairmaster to get to where I am at but when I started on my diet exercise journey I started just by walking. It wasn’t until I lost 100lbs that I joined a gym. Honestly I took everything in 10lb increments and I did a very low carb diet. When I say low carb I’m talking a total of 30 grams of carbs or less per day This is what got a good majority of the weight off and I think I averaged 3 or more lbs lost per week. Low carb is fine as long as you don’t do it long term but I was so terrified of gaining back my weight that I also started reducing calories to the point of eating under 500 per day and then over exercising. That’s when I figured out I had an eating disorder and actually had one for most of my life. Its a long story but one I keep exploring through my blog. If I can do anything to help of just lend an ear I am hear and I certainly know the frustrations that come with being overweight! Thank you for your comments!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Thank you for posting about the difficulty of loosing weight and the pesky thyroid issues! I have had issues with my thyroid since I was probably 30 but wasn’t diagnosed till I was 35! My younger years I was SO SKINNY without even trying… I’m talking 100 lbs up until I was in my 20’s , so I never really considered working out, although I was in Dance. Then the hypothyroid kicked in. Gah! It was nice to finally have hips and boobs, but the weight just keeps creeping on. I now work out and ride my bike. I try to eat healthy…but the husband loves his fired food 😳 And I am a sucker for it too!

    Thank you for putting it out there that thyroids have a huge effect on our weight and it is a mind set that we just need to take one day at a time. We are loved no matter what! As long as we are healthy and work at it , then life is good. Right ?

    Have you read the articles on what not to eat with hypothyroidism? I am assuming you are hypo and not hyper? Let me know and I’ll send you the link!

    We got this sister!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am newly diagnosed with hypothyroidism so I have a roller coaster of emotions about it. I try to stay positive and remember that my hard work will pay off (just maybe not as quick as I would like) but it’s also easy to get discouraged.

      I was also a skinny mini without working for it when I was younger and even when I did start to put on weight, I could lose it easily when I actually put forth an effort. Now I’m working harder than I ever have (and eating way less of the food I love than I ever have) and my results are painfully slow.

      I haven’t actually looked into my condition much. I was prescribed medication and I have a blood test soon to check my hormone levels (it’s been 3 months). As for what I should be eating and doing, I haven’t researched much about that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was in denial for many years….all I did was take my meds (and at times I did not take them, cause I forgot or felt like they weren’t really working). Little did I know! It is a rollercoaster ride for sure and it SUCKs that it is something that we will have for the rest of our lives. WHAT I have discovered is to take the meds as the label says: 1 hour before food or 2 hours after. I take mine as soon as my alarm goes off in the morning and I eat when I get to work. The transformation has been amazing! I have so much more energy and I have a better outlook on life (negative thoughts have decreased substantially!)
        As a person whom used to be ‘skinny’, our new body shape (I think) is something we are just going to have to accept and enjoy (having boobs is great! 😉 ) But I also think we have to be mindful…keep working out to keep the extra pounds off….but we will never be that 120lb person anymore 😦
        Again, I haven’t done that much research and maybe we can get down to that pound again, but I want to also enjoy life and food (I am such a foodie!)
        I am glad we have ‘met’ 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It is very frustrating. Just the other day, I was saying to my mom that if I stopped working out and went back to eating whatever I wanted, I would gain all the weight I lost (and more) back. However, I’ve completely changed my life in terms of what I eat and the amount of physical activity that I get to (almost) no avail. It definitely isn’t a recipe to make someone want to keep going BUT I keep telling myself that all of the changes I’m making are to stay healthy and that the weight loss will come. It has to! Stay strong 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

