Autumn Bucket List (2015)

I love autumn (and all things pumpkin). It’s such a beautiful time of year in Southern Ontario. The air feels crisp, the leaves are changing colour, and the weather is just perfect (not too hot or too cold, which is rare in these parts). Needless to say, I don’t need much encouragement to enjoy my favourite season.

However, I was recently challenged to create seasonal bucket lists (in addition to my overall bucket list) to make sure that I fully enjoy and experience what every season has to offer. Since today is the first day of autumn, it’s the perfect time to start! In acknowledgement of turning 29 yesterday, below are 29 things I’d like to accomplish this season.

Tell me what you want to accomplish this autumn in the comments below.

squantz-pond-209864_640
My Autumn Bucket List
  1. Donate to a local food bank in time for Thanksgiving
  2. Go for a drive with JP and B to enjoy the fall foliage
  3. Bake an apple pie with some of the apples from our tree
  4. Get a Halloween costume for B (and share pictures on my blog!)
  5. Pick a pumpkin from a pumpkin patch
  6. Carve a pumpkin
  7. Perform one random act of kindness
  8. Go on a date with JP without B (sorry, little guy)
  9. Actively manage stress from work and find effective coping strategies, such as:
    1. Getting weekly massages
    2. Incorporating healthy changes at the office (more to follow!)
    3. Wearing a mouth guard at night (teeth grinding is increased by stress and can give you headaches, which doesn’t help my chronic migraines)
  10. Consider new business opportunities
  11. Stay up late and enjoy the harvest moon with JP
  12. Take a family picture (that means you too, Grams!)
  13. Reconnect with our friends, SM and MM
  14. Attend a fall festival
  15. Start Christmas shopping early
  16. Have a horror movie marathon with JP (happy Halloween!)
  17. Bake healthy pumpkin flavoured treats
  18. Share some baked goods with our local hospice. They do incredible work and always stock their kitchen with food for staff, patients, and visitors
  19. Re-commit to seriously working on my book
    1. Consider doing NaNoWriMo
  20. Start a book club (DK, help me!)
  21. Cook Thanksgiving dinner for my loved ones
  22. Start our kitchen renovation
  23. Get a pumpkin spiced latte at Starbucks
  24. When the weather starts to get cold, host a games night (DK? AR?)
  25. Buy snowshoes to keep active and get outside in the cold winter months
  26. Find a cottage where we can spend the Christmas holidays as a family
  27. Learn to make scones (very likely pumpkin spiced)
  28. Find a fantastic daycare for B
  29. Lose 10 pounds (autumn is about 13 weeks long, so this is a totally reasonable goal. I hope to lose more but I’m being conservative just in case my body rebels)

pumpkins-619983_640

79 thoughts on “Autumn Bucket List (2015)

  1. Love your article and that I found yours through you liking my post about wanting to be a lover of autumn! Here are some of my autumn bucket list items focused on family time: take our little guy to a local pumpkin patch, a cider mill and an enchanted forest–the latter of which I learned about last night. Should be fun! Thanks so much for sharing and I look forward to viewing your other bucket lists and future posts!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you for reading and sharing your bucket list items 🙂 Family time is the most important thing and it sounds like your little guy is going to have lots of special memories to look back on with you. I lost my dad early and I really treasure those childhood moments with him. Take lots of pictures!

      I am enjoying your blog so far and looking forward to following along with you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was happy to share some of my autumnal bucket list items! I am so grateful for the time with family and the opportunity to make these special memories. One thing’s for sure: we take LOTS of pictures! 🙂 I’m sorry to hear about your father’s passing though it’s beautiful that you treasure those childhood moments you had with him.

        Thanks so much for saying that you are enjoying my blog so far! I look forward to following along with you and am eager to see your bucket lists as I’m making mine! I love getting ideas of fun things to do and I love the sense of community from connecting with fellow bloggers. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Losing my dad has been very tough (I wrote about it in my “Letter to Me”). As memories fade (which hasn’t happened yet!), pictures become so important. We just moved into a new house not long ago so I’m looking forward to displaying some and making our house feel more like “home.” A lot of pictures live in the closet right now!

        I agree with you about connecting with other bloggers. It’s been my favourite (and most surprising) part of this whole journey. I didn’t think anyone would read what I wrote so to connect with people from all over the world (and even make some personal friends!) has been so awesome and unexpected. You never know when you’ll meet someone who changes or impacts your life, so I’m always open to it (not romantically, of course!).

        Like

      3. I appreciate you opening up and sharing with me. I definitely know what you mean about the pictures becoming so important. I intend to make a gallery wall of family members (with many who have gone before us) so that I can always go to a special place in my home to see their smiling faces and feel their love.

        That’s so lovely that you’ve been able to connect with people all over the world and even make some personal friends through the process of blogging! When you said that you never know when you’ll meet someone who will change or impact your life, the first person I thought of was my grandmother who passed away only a few short months ago. I’ve been working to tell her life story on and off the web for over 5 years now. If you’re curious about someone who impacted everyone she met–even if only for that instance of meeting–you’ll find some of her story over on my blog entitled, Sunshine into the Lives of Others (sunshineintothelivesofothers.wordpress.com). I’d be lucky if I become half as inspiring and impactful as her. 🙂 #wecarrytheminourhearts

        Like

      1. Lol… We had apple trees at our previous house but they were more appropriate for deers than for human consumption. Here, apple picking is a day adventure! You hop in the wagon, pulled by horses, pick your apples, go through the corn maze, play on hay bales and buy other farm veggies and home made products on the way out… Than it’s cooking the apples time!!! Fall is gorgeous here! Can’t wait for the leaves to start changing color! I’ll be sure to link your post in mind as you will be the person who inspired me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I am working on that post! I’ve completely revamped my “sitting at a desk all day” job and I couldn’t be happier :D…well, if I didn’t have to work at all, I’d be happier but this is the next best thing.

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

    1. Thank you 🙂

      Lists help a lot and so does posting them…people start to ask you about your progress, so you really stay accountable once it’s on the internet, LOL. It sucks to say, “well, you see, I haven’t actually started…or done anything…”

      I am going to keep my butt in gear this season!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your bucket list & blog are amazing. I am just starting my career in marketing communications (also for a bank) so I felt a bit like I stepped into a time machine when reading about your life here. Thanks for inspiring me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words! I appreciate everyone who reads and follows along 🙂

      Marcom at a bank?! Maybe we’re colleagues and we don’t even know it! It’s an excellent career choice, though I’ve been with other fantastic organizations too. Feel free to reach out (scarletpen@outlook.com) if you ever need advice or to vent. Sometimes having someone who “gets it” helps a lot 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No one said you get to pick the books, lol. I will be reading science reference material instead of popular fiction. Let’s let IG pick 😀

        If you want to play Catan, your games night will have to be with JP, which I’m sure you’d probably prefer anyway. That’s an awful game 😦

        Like

  3. Some great ideas here! I’m always looking for new things to experience. I can’t say I’m a fan of the chill that Autumn brings, but I definitely love pumpkin recipes. I’m going to aim to find some new and interesting ones to try out this Autumn!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was just checking out your blog and I am feeling similarly “blah” about finding time to actually live life and do the things I want to do when working a corporate job (that pays for the things I want to do, lol).

      Seasonal bucket lists help me to focus on what matters most, which is most definitely not work. If I can set out to achieve a few fun things each season, it will make work more bearable!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, that’s the catch 22! A seasonal bucket list is such a simple but effective idea. I often reflect on my life’s bucket list but it’s good to have some more everyday things that you can work towards on a daily basis. I look forward to hearing more about your Autumn activities 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. First off Happy Birthday to you!! Second, I’m new to your site but I love everything about it!! This Sunday night would be a great night for the Moon, as there is a Lunar Eclipse happening. I’m on the northeast coast of America and we should be able to see it around 10:11 p.m. I love your Seasonal bucket list and your ideas on it if you don’t mind I might just borrow a few…I think you are so inspiring and therefore I have nominated you for The Starlight Blogger Award…if you choose to accept it here is the link…Have a Festive Fall!!
    https://onceuponahotflash.wordpress.com/2015/09/26/the-starlight-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Your kind words made my day! 🙂 We had a really rough day today, so it was nice to come home to some kindness.

      My husband and I are definitely staying up late tomorrow to see the “super moon.” Yes, 10pm is late in our world! Lol.

      Please feel free to leverage my bucket list 🙂 I hope that everyone can enjoy this autumn as much as I intend to. I’m so excited about it and I already have some progress that I can’t wait to report.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad that I was able to lighten your rough day, I hope tomorrow’s a better one. Look forward to reading about your progress. Thanks for sharing your bucket list… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I love that this incorporated acts of kindness, etc. instead of my personal bucket list, which basically consists of eating ALL The pumpkin things.
    Not really (ish) but it is always a great reminder to see the things you can do to make someone ELSES autumn better!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. A scone recipe I found online years ago but can’t remember where.

        Ingredients

        • 225g self raising flour, extra for dusting
        • 75g butter at room temp
        • 3 tbsp caster sugar
        • 1 large egg
        • 3 tbsp milk, extra for glazing

        Method

        • Preheat oven at 220 degrees, 200 degrees for fan oven or gas mark 7
        • Throw everything in a bowl and mix until you get a firm dough
        • Now you can either roll it out and cut it with a scone cutter or do as I do and make little scone balls with your hands. Which are placed on grease proof paper on a baking tray
        • Glaze with milk
        • Back for 10 to 12 minuets (for 5 cm wide ones) then allow to cool

        If you feel bold you can add currents, lemon or orange zest and even cheese (Cheese may take longer to cook).

        And you want to serve with clotted cream and Jam.

        Enjoy 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I have an annual bucket list I just started and a master list. I think they are awesome. Moreover, we do game nights monthly and they are so much fun. I have so many games now and get more ideas from other friends of games I had never heard of until recently! They are a blast! If you told me I could still play games at this age when I was a kid I would never believe you! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! Most of our dinner parties end in games, which is great (for me at least…my husband doesn’t love games quite as much).

      I think bucket lists are great too. It really helps to see your goals on paper (or a blog post!).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well we play some crazy adults games some include drinking and some are just crazy. We play cards against humanity, drinking roulette, truth or dare jenga, taboo, phase 10, skip bo, adult charades, and some other risque games that include drinking LOL. The bucket list has helped me get a move on a my more adventurist side and I enjoy it. I sometimes lag and forget to do things I enjoy when I get bogged down with the doldrums of life, LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

