T25 Focus Challenge: Week Four (Redo)

I have to admit that the Alpha phase of T25 is getting a little dull. In fact, the thought of doing these same videos again makes me cringe. I really miss lifting weights and I’m pretty sure that the next phase of the program has at least one video where you get to do that.  I’m starting to think that I shouldn’t have redone Week Four and simply moved on, but I didn’t want to “cheat” on the program.

I was planning to do Insanity Max 30 as my next fitness challenge, which is another Shaun T program. However, I’ve decided that I need a break from body weight exercises and jumping, so I am going to do a different challenge instead. I am currently designing my own customized workout schedule to share with all of you, so stay tuned for an update on what’s coming next (and consider joining me!).

How long does it take before you start to get bored of a workout program? I’ve realized I have about a 30 day tolerance for repetition.

fitness-motivation-gym-inspiration-quote-saying-meme-seven-days-someday-tone-and-tighten1

Day 30: Cardio

I am happy to report that I nailed it. Yes, you right that correctly. I killed this workout!

Day 31: Total Body Circuit

This video is still tough, but I am happy to report that I am continuously improving. I did have to modify, so I have to give myself a barely made it. If I don’t nail this video next week, I am going to keep it in my workout repertoire until I do!

Day 32: Lower Focus

If it wasn’t for the terrible lunge section of this video, I would have nailed it. My legs are really strong…or so I thought until I did this workout and barely made it.

Day 33: Total Body Circuit

Doing this video twice in a week is really cruel. You guessed it: barely made it.

Day 34: Ab Intervals and Speed 1.0

I was very close to nailing the Speed 1.0 workout despite the burpees, but I did have to modify in one section resulting in a barely made it.

Given my current level of core strength, the ab video is a bit of a waste of time for me. There aren’t many modifiers given, so I’m really not deriving a lot of benefit from going through the motions. In fact, I might skip it next week and replace it with another video.

Day 35: Rest

This weekend was Thanksgiving in Canada, so it was nice to have a day of rest. It was beautiful outside, so I spent a few hours playing with B instead of with Shaun T.

Day 36: Stretch

I’m fairly certain that I will never do this routine. Despite my best intentions, it just doesn’t happen.

18 thoughts on “T25 Focus Challenge: Week Four (Redo)

      1. Yes the second month is longer so it can be a pain in the butt…I personally like it better because I’ve always wanted to be a football player so it feels more like an intense game you know? I’d stick to t25 if time is an issue though because it is draining

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Whether its coincidence or a biochemical response, boredom and acclimation proximate each other. I encourage people to change up routines every 2-4 weeks. This keeps the body guessing and encourages new healthful gains. STRETCHING is an important part of exercise and one that is usually sacrificed if time is a concern. This is a BIG MISTAKE especially as we age. Loss of flexibility will lead to recurring injuries that cumulatively can cause significant problems. If you don’t like stretching, do it for shorter periods of time. Please, do not abandon them. I wasn’t sure if Day 36 was a specific stretching routine or you were talking stretching in general.

    It is wonderful to read about your drive. Please remember to smile and enjoy the process. Sometimes you sound intensely focused which can lead to increases in stress (especially if the scale doesn’t agree with your efforts.) Work out hard, eat healthy and live life to the fullest. Just remember, your wonderful blogging community has your back!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. This program has two phases that are five weeks each, which I’m finding is quite long. I am definitely looking forward to moving on next week! As for stretching, in theory I know that it is a good thing to do but I just don’t make time for it. You’re right – if I’m running out of time, it’s not the workout that will be sacrificed but the warm-up and cool down.

      I am VERY motivated because I have a lot riding on losing weight – being healthy, of course, but also my ability to get pregnant in the next year or so. I try to focus on the things I can control – like eating healthy and working out – and then I do get incredibly committed to succeed (this can be a good and bad thing…I bring it to everything in my life).

      Work has been crazy lately and I’ve had less time to blog and engage, which has made me sad. I’m so glad when I can find some time to check in – I love you guys and gals!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As a doctor, I can assure you that diet and exercise WILL NOT GET YOU PREGNANT!! Your husband is going to play an integral role!! 😀 I’m only kidding, I fully understand what you meant. Here’s to a future successful healthy pregnancy and healthy baby!! If the child is male, it is my understanding the name Jonathan is available. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I hear ya! I often easily get bored and need to switch it up. I do recommended stretching though. It’s so important and often forgot about, which can lead to injury. Try it just once and see how you feel afterwards. You might just really enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am SO ready to start the next phase of this program…and looking even more forward to my next challenge, which is totally different, lol.

      I keep making a point to stretch and then I just never do…UGH! I will get on it one of these days…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. STreeeeeeeetch! haha, Still on your page of almost no stretching as often as I say I do. I just spent two days on airplanes cramped up and all I could think of was “i wish i could stretch out” but yah, not everyday I am crammed into a plane but I do need to work on stretching, dang it! I have started to mix it up with the videos too, as long as I do something I feel accomplished! Great job as always!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was madly in love with T25 despite my preference for weights over cardio as well (bicep curls are better than jumping what can I say) – but I went into the Gamma phase which combines a lot more weights and I did 18 weeks – after that I transitioned to Brazil Butt Lift because I just noticed how bad everything looked now that it wasn’t covered in fat lol. Then suddenly a pattern of high cardio to more strength focus every 60 days occured but I always complete the program. I’m now on a very weights based program and miss cardio (weird)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I became a coach after losing almost 20lbs and just chalk up the rotating programs to “professional development” I have piyo on my to do list and start so many new challengers on it and everyone loves it (and chalene) – I can send you a link for a free on demand trial if you would like to test drive a piyo workout

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

