Pumpkin Spiced Bread

As many of you know from a previous post, autumn is my favourite season and I love all things pumpkin. I couldn’t resist sharing (at least) one pumpkin recipe with all of you!

Pumpkin Spiced Bread

I have never tried to make pumpkin bread before, so this was my first attempt. I based my efforts off of a recipe I found online, but I significantly modified it to make it lighter (read: somewhat healthier – I can’t claim that it’s “healthy,” but it is definitely healthier than the original version). The results were delicious, which JP can attest to.

Ingredients
  • 2 cups of pumpkin puree
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup of applesauce
  • 2/3 cup of water
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 3 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons of baking soda
  • 1 cup of walnuts
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of ground nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons of pumpkin spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger
  • 2 tablespoons of flaxseed

Pro tips:

  • If you don’t have any ground cloves, you can use allspice or skip it altogether. I always consider spices to be “to taste.” Feel free to modify the quantities to your likings
  • This recipe makes three 7×3 inch loaves, so if you don’t have enough pans (or simply want something other than bread), then you can make pumpkin muffins instead (or a combination of both options)
  • This bread would be delicious with cream cheese icing, but that is definitely not even remotely healthy. JP and I have been eating it plain without complaint
Directions

Pre-heat the oven to 350°F.

In a large bowl, mix together the pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, applesauce, water, vanilla, and sugars until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, walnuts, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, and flaxseed. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pans (I used aluminum foil to eliminate the mess).

Bake for about an hour. The loaves are done when a toothpick inserted in the centres comes out clean.

What is your favourite pumpkin recipe?

IMG_7780

27 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spiced Bread

  1. I have found and am willing to admit that my skills in the kitchen are lacking. If the recipe requires more than adding soymilk to organic flakes, my guests suggest eating out! Your skills obviously far exceed mine. It looks truly delicious. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Scarlet, I am no cook and like my pumpkins cut and roasted like potatoes, but I’ve copied the recipe and will give it a try. Actually I have another reason for posting. You kindly put a like on my blog (thank you! thankyou!) but since then my pc has semi-crashed and I have now other way of contacting you. Fortunately before things went down I had visited your site and found it again in my browsing history. Well worth finding, particularly your ‘musings’ page.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I subbed half the vegetable oil for applesauce, which worked well. I have no idea what would happen if you didn’t us any, but I don’t see any reason why it still wouldn’t be good….try it and let us know! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

