T25 Focus Challenge: Week Eight

I’ve been using 8 pound weights in my T25 workouts, which is the same as the non-modifying female in the videos. The guys are using 12 pound weights, but I think my upper body would simply halt in protest. Confession: my arms aren’t very strong. So as much as I’d love to be lifting more than the guys, I think that will have to wait for the next time I do T25, which will be never some time next year. In fact, I’d even be happy with using 10 pound weights!

The “fitspiriation” picture that I’ve included in today’s post is referring to my journey so far and not my actual workouts. Don’t get me wrong, the workouts are brutal too, but I’ve been learning to persevere against disappointment, frustration, impatience, and even anger, which I think is an even greater accomplishment than getting this far into T25. The mental obstacles that you need to overcome on a fitness journey are very challenging and I fight against giving up more often than I’d like to.

However, when you are able to keep working towards your goals, even though you want to just say forget it, I think that you should take a moment to be proud of yourself. I wish I could tell you that I’m further along in terms of my weight loss goal than I am, but things are moving slowly. While that would normally make me give me, I’m going to refocus my negative energy to keep going. I will get there and so will you!

What is the biggest mental obstacle that you’ve had to overcome on your fitness journey?  

a4ba39e802cc1885e23ecad4aad0c74c

Day 50: Core Cardio

Verdict: nailed it

Day 51: Upper Focus

Verdict: barely made it

Day 52: Speed 2.0

Verdict: nailed it

Day 53: Rip’T Circuit

Verdict: barely made it

Day 54: Dynamic Core and Speed 2.0

Verdict: nailed it

Day 55: Rest

This was JP’s birthday weekend, so it was nice to have a Shaun T free weekend.

Day 56: Stretch

We spent the day walking around at an event, so rather than stretch, I had some active recovery instead.

21 thoughts on “T25 Focus Challenge: Week Eight

  1. The biggest obstacle was food. Many people think working out gives them the ability to eat poor food choices because exercise burns it off. First, poor food choices place stress (not nutrition) in the body. Without providing essential nutrients the affects of working out can actually add physical “stress” to the body. The end result becomes a weaker less efficient body that is incapable of functioning well.
    Once I committed to a 90% / 10% nutrition plan, the physical, mental and emotional benefits superseded any goals desired. (This could have also been achieved with an 80% / 20% plan.) There is no turning back, because the benefits greatly outweigh (excuse the pun) the “sacrifices.”
    Good nutrition truly accounts for 70%-80% of the equation for successful health and fitness. Exercise provides about 15-20% in the end. Even though the exercise percentage seems small, it is a VITAL component necessary to achieving the “complete package.” You can’t make a choice between food and exercise. The purpose of my comment is to reinforce
    1. HOW MUCH NUTRITION plays in the outcome
    2. Nutrition and Exercise need to be combined
    3. For total health, additional components need to be addressed. These include: (a) hydration, (b) stress reduction, (c) restful sleep (6-9 hours on average), (d) proper nervous system function (to allow for proper communication throughout the body), (e) BALANCE in life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s true and food is definitely the hardest part for me. I am not counting calories per say but I do have meal plans written out that we follow all week (my husband just eats what I do because I don’t want to cook two meals). I think the problem for me is weekends when I don’t necessarily plan and am a bit more lenient with myself. Starting today though, weekends are included in my meal plan (they count, duh! lol) and I am going to be just as diligent on my “off” days as I am when I’m at work. The rest, I am always working on – sleeping a proper amount every night, eliminating stress from my life (as much as possible), and trying to be a balanced, well-rounded person. The exercise part is “easy” for me because it’s just something I do. Now I wish eating the right things was coming to me as naturally…but I’ll get there.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My biggest obstacle is defintely getting my butt motivated to actually go and workout…and keeping myself motivated for more than a few weeks. Once I hit about 3 or 4 weeks I get lazy and bored with whatever I am doing and need to change it up or I will stop.
    But I see that you NAILED 3 out of 5 of your workouts! Thats awesome girl ❤ So proud of you.
    You are doing an amazing job. We all have bad days/weeks and I know it is slow moving for you (we are so much a like in that way) but there is progression! You are moving forward, even if its at a snail's pace…it is still forward and not back.
    Keep up the great work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m the same way (not surprising…we are very similar! lol) in that I get so easily bored. I have about a 30 day threshold for the same type of workout and then I start to go crazy. I am beyond sick of T25 but I only have two weeks left so I’m just going to finish it and then finally move on! On the bright side, I will bring renewed energy and focus to my next challenge because I will be so excited that I’m not doing this one anymore! lol.

      Like

  3. The biggest mental obstacle for me has been realizing that doing something, ANYTHING, is better than sitting there wishing the day away. I used to sit around with that constant “I’ll start tomorrow” mentality. Coaching actually changed that for me- if I’m holding others accountable, I’d damn well better be getting my own stuff done.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It true. There’s no such thing as bad workout and saying “later” often means “never.” I’ve been putting off Shaun T today, but I’m just about to change into my workout gear and get it done. No one is going to do it for me!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Losing your momentum is so hard! After taking weekends off, Monday morning workouts are awful, lol. Rest days remind me how nice it would be not to hang out with Shaun T, so I completely agree!

      Like

  4. Totally agree on refocusing the negative energy. My weight loss has been very gradual, but I know if I know the best thing I can do is focus on getting stronger with my workouts! That way I can be happy with what I got done that day, rather than beating myself up over what I weighed that morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I try hard not to worship the scale, but it’s hard. I always want to know that number even though I know that’s not where my focus should be. I try and focus on what I did accomplish versus how much further I have to go.

      Like

  5. My biggest obstacle is me. I don’t work out. I get lots of activity with my dog, but still, I would like to start yoga again. I don’t need to lose weight but I would like to feel better in body and mind.
    BTW…you’re doing awesome! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My biggest obstacle is food. I’m a foodie and an emotional eater so I’m learning how to redirect myself. When I eat clean I find I don’t really have cravings, which helps, but when I get emotional I can’t keep them at bay. I’m trying to add extra fitness in when I want to eat something I know I shouldn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love food too, especially the kinds that I shouldn’t. I would eat a McNugget RIGHT NOW for real. However, what I’m trying to do is eat clean first and then tell myself that I can have a treat afterwards if I’m still hungry. Good food always fills me up so it’s rare that I actually want something else after I fill up on the good stuff. Working out makes me even hungrier! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  7. My weight loss also has been SO SLOW for the first three months… BUT my cardiovascular endurance has improved a million times and I lost inches and my clothes fit so much better. I learned that weight is not the only marker. I totally understand that we want that weight to dive bomb but look to other things too. Keep on keeping on with me! You’re rocking it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the encouragement. It’s tough when you’re working SO hard and you don’t see the scale move, but I agree that my cardio has improved and my clothes are looser (they still fit though! I want them falling off, lol). When I decided to lose weight, I never imagined it would take so long. I’ve lost weight way faster in the past, so this has been really hard for me mentally, but I’m just going to keep going.

      Like

Leave a Reply

