T25 Focus Challenge: Week Nine

As you’ve probably noticed from my recent posts, I am mentally done with the T25 Focus Challenge. This is technically my tenth and final week of the program because I re-did Week Four (which was a mistake), so I’ve made the executive decision to move on to a new challenge early.

I do like having a plan and sticking to a program, but I also feel that I need to be flexible and listen to my body. If I’m being honest, I’m completely bored of these workouts, disengaged with the program, and exercise is beginning to feel like more of a chore than usual (and that’s saying something!).

This is not to say that the T25 Focus program isn’t great – it is! But after 10 weeks of essentially the same thing, I am beyond ready to try something new. I also think that I may have reached a plateau, so it’s time to move on, shake things up, and get started on a new fitness challenge.

I am going to stick with doing fitness challenges because exercise doesn’t feel like a “part of my life” yet. When I’m not totally comfortable with something, it’s best for me to have a plan. At the same time, I’m also going to make changes as I feel like it. My plan will be a foundation, but not something that is set in stone.

Doing programs gives me a unique opportunity to work with different trainers and take advantage of their expertise without paying crazy prices. My fitness challenges also let me sample a variety of training styles, types of exercise, and workout lengths so that I can find what works best for me.

I love Shaun T and I will definitely do other Beachbody programs in the future (some are already in the queue!). But for now, the program isn’t working for me and my body and I think that’s okay. I’m definitely not “giving up” and I still feel that I finished this program. It’s just time to move on.

I hope that you will stay tuned to see what I have planned next! Tell me about your favourite (and least favourite) fitness programs in the comments below.

workout-motivation-pinterest-400x400

Day 57: Rip’T Circuit

Barely made it

Day 58: Dynamic Core

Barely made it

Day 59: Core Cardio

Nailed it

Day 60: Dynamic Core

Barely made it

Day 61: Speed 2.0 and Upper Focus

Nailed it (both!)

Day 62: Rest  

Day of rest

Day 63: Stretch  

As promised, I did finally complete this video, which wasn’t as bad as I was expecting it to be. It was more of an active stretch than a yoga-esque stretch, which was great. In fact, I would highly recommend it! Hey, better late than never, right?

27 thoughts on “T25 Focus Challenge: Week Nine

  1. See! I told you that the stretch was great. You use more muscle than you think you will and you actually sweat quite a bit. Plus it stretches out those sore muscle groups!
    So glad you are not giving up and you are moving on! I cant wait to see what is next and I hope that you love it!
    Great job girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You were right (as usual). My new challenge has stretches built in after every workout, so there will be no escape for me! LOL

      I did day one of my new challenge this morning and I am loving it so far! That may fade after a few weeks but for now, the newness is great 🙂

      Like

      1. This program changes up every few weeks! So while it is 90 days, the workouts are constantly evolving…unlike T25, lol. I feel like I am setting myself up for success with it.

        Like

  2. Changing routines is ESSENTIAL. Boredom is one of the reasons people quit! At this point I usually remind them that they probably experience boredom at work as well, yet they are less inclined to quit. People seem to believe they have less to lose quitting exercise. THEY ARE WRONG!! The pain of degeneration and ill health is simply a slower process than losing income needed for BILLS. Boredom requires some form of change. You were smart enough to realize this. I also agree that until exercise becomes an accepted lifestyle a structured approach helps pattern one’s life. Looking forward to seeing where your new direction heads. Best of continued SUCCESS!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That made me laugh! As much as I’d love to quit my job, I can’t…and I need to view exercise the same way. If you don’t have good health, you don’t have anything, so if you really stop and think about it, exercise is more important than our jobs.

      I still have a lot to learn about exercise, but I know myself pretty well. When I woke up dreading my workouts, I knew something had to change. There are so many options out there, so I don’t need to commit to one program if I feel it isn’t working. I’m glad to have made the change and that it’s Dr. Jonathan approved 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed T25, but never made it the entire way through the program. I liked all the different workouts, but after so many weeks they can get boring and repetitive. Back when I was successful with weight loss, I did many different Beachbody programs: Slim in 6, Brazil Butt Lift, Les Mills Pump, Les Mills Combat, Focus T25, and 21 Day Fix. I think that’s it. LOL. I am currently getting my health back on track and just finished my first round of the 21 Day Fix. I enjoy that one because it is short term; 21 days is pretty easy to commit to. But it is 21 days straight, with 2 active recovery days. So if you don’t want to workout 7 days a week, then it might not work for you. I lost 7lbs in those 21 days and am starting a second round today! Can’t wait to see what you have lined up next!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I know who to go to for Beachbody expertise! LOL

      I am interested in the 21 Day Fix and it sounds like you’ve had great results – congrats! It’s not easy, so good for you for sticking to it and successfully losing weight.

      Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe that 21 Day Fix has the small colourful containers for food? I’m not sure that I can commit to the meal plan and I have no idea how effective the workout plan would be without that component. That’s not to say that I don’t eat clean – I do – but I don’t like being restricted by “diets.”

      I am definitely excited about my new program and best of all – it’s free!

      Like

      1. I don’t know about being an expert, but I certainly have done several of them! Being a mom to 3 young boys makes it challenging to find time to workout, so a traditional gym doesn’t work for me…I am a big fan of working out from home for sure! The 21 Day Fix does come with a nutrition guide with containers. The very first time I did the program when it first came out, I stuck to the containers. It was sometimes tedious, but helpful if you struggle with eating the right foods and the right portions. However, I just completed my new round 1 and I did not follow with the containers. I am trying out eating Paleo, so that was my focus. And I lost 7lbs in those 21 days. So the containers are not crucial. I think as long as you are eating a balanced “diet” you can definitely still have success!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Some times it’s good just to change things up! I like having a variety every week. I do a stretch class, yoga class, strength training class, I see a personal trainer 1x per week and do some cardio on the treadmill and elliptical. It keeps things from getting boring and challenges me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I used to do when I went to the gym, but since I’ve become home-based in terms of exercise, I have been doing fitness challenges. My new one incorporates cardio, strength training, yoga, and pilates so I’m hoping that’s going to be enough of a variety for me. If I don’t make more progress, I may consider seeing a trainer myself!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like the fitness challenges too. It can Beverly motivating. I do 1/2 at home and half at the gym. I have a treadmill, rower and weights at home but since I’ve been inured I’ve been limited to what I can do, so the gym gave me variety. I have to say I love having a personal trainer once a week. She really works me hard!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve heard a LOT of positive feedback on PiYo and on Cize. You can find a lot of PiYo videos in YouTube to see if it’s a program you might want to try from Beachbody. There’s a commercial video for Cize on You Tube too. Hope that helps! Let me know what you think of whatever you choose-I’m doing Insanity right now and it is intense as hell. Little out of my league right now too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the suggestions! I will definitely check out both. Insanity is too much of a time commitment for me and I get SO bored of body weight exercises. I am enjoying the diversity of my current program much more…and I can’t walk very well today, so that has to be a good thing!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I used to be like you. Doing a ton of different work out programs to try to find what would be right for me. In 2013, I discovered Tone It Up and I’ve been following it ever since. It has challenges a few times a year. There’s always the Bikini Series which is an 8-week challenge leading up to the first day of summer and they give away prizes every week with a huge grand prize at the end (usually a trip somewhere). We just finished the fall challenge (which was all about charity) and they are about to start a New Year’s challenge (which I’m assuming will be the few weeks leading up to New Year’s Eve). They’ve also had challenges leading up to Valentine’s Day. Aside from their challenges, they actually post up a weekly schedule all year so you always have a workout schedule to follow that is free. You also have the option of paying for their nutrition plan where you’ll get a TON of recipes and they are always sending new ones. If you decide not to join the nutrition plan then there is nothing wrong with that. They still post up new recipes quite often; just not as often as for the nutrition plan members.
    This is the best program I’ve found and I love it. Of course, everyone is different and you have to find what is right for you.

    http://www.toneitup.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have actually just started looking into Tone It Up. Do the weekly workouts change or is it all the same videos repeated from week to week? I can tolerate a bit of repetition, but not for weeks on end.

      There are so many healthy recipes available for free online that I don’t think I would ever pay for a nutrition plan, but I am definitely interested in looking further into the workouts.

      Thank you for the reminder!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It changes every week. We do repeat the same work outs at times but never in the same week. They also usually come out with a new work out on Tuesdays that they will start incorporating into the schedule the following week.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s great that you recognize that a program isn’t working and you’re flexible enough to call it & move on! One of my favorite workouts is PiYo with Chalene Johnson. The workouts are challenging for sure, especially for balance lol! One of the workouts is 45 minutes, which can be difficult to squeeze in at times though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

