6 Ways to Know You Married a Trades Guy

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to be married to a trades guy? Well, you can find out below!

6 Ways to Know You Married a Trades Guy

Your house doesn’t have any lights. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating slightly but not much. None of the bedrooms in our house have central lighting sources, so JP promised me that he’d install pot lights…a year ago. We’ve been living with lamps ever since. Please not that he happily installs lights for other people.

As a side note, who  would ever think it was a good idea to design bedrooms without central lighting? You might sleep there, but you still need to, you know, be able to see in order to get to bed safely.

energy-282167_640

A whole day can pass before your texts are answered. When I’m at work, I spend most of the day sitting (which I actually hate). When JP is at work, he spends the entire day moving around, working with his hands, and dealing with customers. He almost always has his phone with him, but it’s not always accessible or possible for him to take time out to chat with me (terrible, right?).

Given the nature of his job, I understand this and usually don’t think much of texts that go unanswered. However, there have been times that, also given the nature of his job, I wonder if he’s okay. This fear  results in me leaving voice messages like this: “hi, babe. You haven’t answered me all day, so I’m calling to check if you’re still alive. If you’re not dead, call me back and bring home milk. I love you!”

Our sense of humor is really awful.

girl-926225_640

There is a wide array of work boots and safety shoes on our front step. JP’s work footwear is awful. Dirty, stinky, and all around gross. As such, I make him keep it all outside. Another trades wife I know makes her husband remove his clothes before coming into the house, which I think is a touch extreme (and alarming for the neighbours).

work-101556_640

You pay for services rendered in beer. I don’t mean that I pay JP; I believe in slave labour when it comes to my husband. However, trades guys will often swap their services amongst each other and pay in beer, which is a fantastic deal. Both our air conditioning unit and Grams’ broke down within a week of each other during a heat wave this summer. Total cost to fix both units? Two cases of beer.

beer-428121_640

Your house is in a constant state of disarray. JP is an electrician by trade, but he has a strong working knowledge of all things construction. He doesn’t like plumbing and will often tell me, “I’m not a plumber, eh?” but that doesn’t mean that he can’t do it (which I love to remind him of). He is always renovating something, but it’s not always my first choice of project (remember the pot lights? We got a new garage door instead). B and I have gotten used to living with the sound of power tools in the background and watching where we walk very carefully.

site-682471_640

Sometimes, “don’t touch me!” is shouted at you frantically. No, JP isn’t grouchy (usually). He just works live sometimes (even though that’s a very bad idea) and if he happens to get electrocuted, he doesn’t want to take me down with him. Isn’t that sweet and romantic? It is in our world.

Me: Hi, babe. *touches JP’s back as I walk by*

JP: Don’t touch me!

Me: You’re working live aren’t you?

JP: No, of course not.

Me: Then why can’t I touch you?

JP: Because…

Me: Would you let me work live?

JP: No, of course not.

Me: Then why do you do it?

JP: I’m not!

Please note that electricians think they are invincible. They also lie.

 Tell me some fun facts about your relationship!

29 thoughts on “6 Ways to Know You Married a Trades Guy

  1. lol!!! I can relate to what you have said. My husband does not work in the trades now but has before when he was younger. Now he’s Mr. Fix It (takes forever but things do get fixed) around the house. On our fridge the fan went out on it so the refrigerator side was not cooling. He pulled everything out and rewired the fan with a timer to actually go on and off to make the fridge cool….been that way for 6 months now with no issues. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my, nasty work boots- GROSS :/! My husband is the same way. He is a DIY fixer too which is why we have darn near every tool known to man but he doesn’t have the time to use them at home! We do the beer thing too- I get new electrical with either a bottle of jack or a case of beer!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha.. I love your sense of humor. It’s twisted like ours! Im married to an IT guy (computers) yet I have so many issue with our personal computer I have threatend to take it to a computer shop, much to the horror of my husband, who keeps promising to “get to it.” He also does trade work for alcohol but it’s usually a bottle of rum. All my friends have fixed computers, we have a lot of rum and I still have a crappy computer that I use my cell phone most days!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! That is exactly what happens, except it’s our faucet, an outlet, painting, etc. He will come home and tell me about all the nice work he did for others while I’m living in a shack! You really should take your computer in, get a quote, and see if that gets his butt in gear 😀

      I’m the computer fixer around the house, so at least that’s one thing that can get done. He did just read this post, so maybe he will be inspired, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love your post, can relate totally! Years ago my husband (who’s a fitter and turner by trade) used to come home from work, whip off his shirt, throw it on the ground (still does it now, years later!) and our Bluey dog used to grab it and run round and round the house with Doug chasing him. It was a game and a ritual EVERY night!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So it’s not just the boots in your house, it’s all the clothes, lol! Luckily even our dog won’t go near my husband’s boots – they’re seriously awful!

      Thank you for reading. I thought others might be able to relate to my “pain.”

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved this. My husband was formerly a Chef for ten years, so the voicemail bit was particularly familiar and charming. I distinctly remember a few of our calls like, “Hey, it’s me. Just calling to make sure you haven’t cut off your hand. Do you know if you’re closing the restaurant tonight?” Or “So my sous chef dropped a deli slicer (like, the whole machine) and my leg took the fall. Do you know where the nearest Urgent Care is?”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. haha! i assume electricians don’t come home nearly as grimey as say a mechanic or something of that nature so stripping right down isn’t necessary… though… now that i type this, maybe it’s not a bad idea to have hubby walk into the house in his underoos…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This sounds so very familiar. We have had new, bamboo floors in (husband installed) for three years now. We still don’t have baseboard back up or quarter round installed. When you build houses all day, it’s tough to come home and work on your own. I get it. But, I’d like to have the baseboards in. I might DIY it soon. Oh, and it took 20 years for the “invincibility” to wear off enough that he started using safety goggles. He’s been to the ER twice to have metal frags removed from his EYEBALL! But he’s cute, so I’ll keep him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You just have to threaten to hire one of his buddies to come and finish the job! That usually gets my husband’s butt in gear. I have threatened to do things myself, too, and he always says no because I don’t know how. Sure, I don’t know how, exactly, but at least it would get DONE!

      It’s funny because JP never used to worry about safety gear in his 20s, but now that he’s in 30s, he has started to work very safely (which is a relief to me!). You would think the threat to your eyes not once but TWICE would certainly get someone in gear, lol.

      Thank you for reading and I’m sorry that you can relate to my pain and suffering (but on the bright side, bamboo floors are amazing and trades guys are pretty hot!).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

