90 Day Fitness Challenge: BeFiT in 90, Blogilates, and Tone It Up

Now that I have completed T25 Focus and a 30 Day Fitness Challenge, I need to start something new in order to stay motivated and continue to see results. As I mentioned in previous posts, I am tired of Shaun T (for now!), so I want to try something new that incorporates more diversity.

What’s Next?

For those of you who have been following me for awhile, you know that I think repetition is the thief of joy when it comes to working out. I can’t stand to do the same routines for weeks on end and, at this point in my fitness journey, I refuse to. As such, I am using three different workout programs to create my own hybrid program to avoid boredom, the dreaded plateau, and disengagement. I will share links and reviews for each day so that you can follow along if you wish!

The BeFiT in 90 Workout Program is 35 minutes a day of mixed workouts. Overall, it looks pretty solid except for a few minor glitches, which is to be expected with a free program. One of the built in trainer tips promises two rest days per week but that isn’t always the case. Also, 7 doesn’t divide into 90, so you need to add Day 91 as the second rest day in the final week. The worst thing about the program is that it has commercials built in, but that’s YouTube’s fault.

The BeFiT program is broken into three 30 day sequences that get progressively harder. The problem is that you are expected to do the same few videos for the whole 30 days, which would be impossible for me. I’ve decided to do the same videos for the first 15 days, then complete videos from Tone It Up for the remaining 15 days before moving onto the next phase of BeFiT. I’ve heard great things about Tone It Up, so I’m excited!

In addition to my hybrid program, I am also going to be incorporating some pilates into my routine. My biggest lessons learned from my previous challenges is that my core needs some serious work and that I hate stretching. I’ve mentioned before that I had back surgery, so it’s even more important for me to work on these two areas than it is for a “normal” person. My plan is to complete videos from Cassey Ho’s YouTube channel, Blogilates, which will allow me to work on my core and stretch at the same time. I’m all about efficiency.

What Will I Do On Rest Days?

I am not a huge fan of rest days. I have a big weight loss goal and I’m generally an impatient person. However, I know that rest days are important to achieving results, so I will either take my rest days completely off or do some active recovery, such as a longer pilates video, depending on how I feel. I personally don’t believe that rest days need to mean complete inactivity, but rather being gentle with your body and giving yourself some time to recover from the torture you’ve put yourself through the rest of the week.

Thank you for sharing in my journey towards better health and improved fitness. I’d love to know: What do you do on rest days?

beach-650751_640 

22 thoughts on “90 Day Fitness Challenge: BeFiT in 90, Blogilates, and Tone It Up

  1. I do this really strange thing that most people who train regularly seem to have an amazingly difficult time to do; I REST AND RECOVER! This includes BOTH mind and body. The physical and emotional stress exercise may produce can sometimes counter the desired outcome. Rest and recovery for those with big goals is viewed as “unnecessary downtime.” The belief that burning more calories will achieve the goals more quickly is a fallacy. The goals should be based on a LIFETIME OF SUCCESS. Rest and recovery will help achieve these lifetime goals more efficiently and will likely cause less damage and injury in the process.

    If you insist, however, on incorporating some form of exercise during recovery days, may I suggest placing “B” of a treadmill and watch him run for a while. I call this exercise through osmosis! 🙂

    Like

    1. LOL! B actually loves going on the treadmill. We have used it to drain his energy in the past and he is very agreeable to the process.

      I am learning to actually take rest days. I do one day of active recovery and have one day completely. It actually does feel pretty good, both mentally and physically!

      Thank you for injecting some humor into my day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Keep smiling, keep laughing and keep enjoying life. There is no practice round.
        I am very impressed that the lady with limited patience is willing to include a day of COMPLETE recovery. You will not be disappointed with the benefits. Give “B” a hug and kiss for me. I can’t help it; I love dogs!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you ever tried Insanity? It’s pretty crazy as the name suggests, my step siblings got a boot leg copy of the thing and it’s is certainly a memorable workout. How people do it I have no idea, I just started doing a Fitness piece because I need to get rid of this fat.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So glad that you are looking forward to your new plan! Cant wait to read all about it.

    On rest days I…do whatever I usually do on a normal day and I just do not do a specified workout. But I almost always try to get at least 5,000 steps in. Wether I go for a walk with my daughter, go shopping (this counts as active recovery for me lol) etc. I dont think rest days are days that you literally do nothing…in my opinion they are just days that you dont do an actual workout.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. on an active rest day i like a leisurely hike with friends or get coffee with my boyfriend or friends or even my dog and take a nice long walk. Sit on a recombent bike and just slowly peddle along while i watch tv or read.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, I have an aversion to working out on using these programs precisely because I get bored but I’m definitely checking out Blogalaties. Sounds interesting. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I get very bored too, which is why I’m using three! LOL

      I think if I mix it up between three different programs, I should be okay also start to get better results. I think I did so many programs that I worked myself right into a plateau that I really need to get out of.

      Let me know what you think of Cassey 🙂 She’s quite excitable as a trainer (and a tad annoying) but the workouts are great.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad you mentioned it yourself. Rest is when growth happens. It also prevents overtraining which has severe impacts. Readers: don’t get into the “more is better” mentality. Also, (I’m sure you know this Scarlet but isn’t apart of this post) remember that a significant part of success is diet, and no amount or intensity of training will overcome a poor one. Great post though, variety is a huge factor in Consistency

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How many rest days do you recommend per week? I generally take one day completely off and then one day of “active recovery” where I do easier workouts.

      I do know that you can’t outwork a bad diet and that is definitely the hardest part for me. I love food that is no good for me and I think I’m addicted to sugar! It’s been a huge struggle to change that element of my life for sure.

      Like

      1. I rest two days, and I work muscle groups separately so they’re getting some rest even on gym days. A third day wouldn’t hurt me but my goals are probably different than yours. If your main goal is to burn calories to support a calorie deficit for weight loss, think of it this way, if you’re doing a lot of high intensity training you’re going to need to eat more to fuel your body. That’s the opposite of what you want. If your goal is a higher fitness level well then you train hard and eat to support the training. When I’m in fat loss mode I strength train and do 20 minute interval cardio sessions just to burn about 270 calories per total workout (that includes the calories I burn lifting). I add those calories on top of my target intake which is configured to be a 500 calorie deficit. On rest days I eat less, but I’m less hungry because I didn’t train. I eat good quality food, strength train to offset muscle loss as we age (and bc lean muscle mass is more “expensive” for the Body to maintain so you burn more calories doing nothing), and do a bit of cardio for the benefits it brings. Eat clean, work out enough to keep your body lean and healthy and create the calorie deficit. That’s all you need.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ps. We are all addicted to sugar. The brain loves it. So just remember the more you eat it the more your brain will beg you for it. The less you eat it, the quieter the brain becomes. Doesn’t take that long to change either. We just don’t break the cycle.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

