90 Day Fitness Challenge: BeFiT in 90, Blogilates, and Tone It Up (Day 22 to 28)

This was my second week of doing Tone It Up videos. I selected a random assortment of workouts (about 40 minutes in length) to complete for five days. I also had one day of rest day and one day of active recovery. In terms of my weekly update, my pal DK suggested that I try a different format, so I am going to give it a shot. If you are not a fan, please blame her!

What I enjoyed: The Tone It Up videos are short, fun, and effective. I can honestly say that I haven’t come across any that I haven’t enjoyed. I could do without the long introductions featuring the instructors dancing around, but on the bright side, I can skip through them.

What I did not enjoy: In terms of my workouts, I hate any and all jumping. In regards to my overall journey, I am still not seeing the results that I want to see and it’s very frustrating. I did get my thyroid medication adjusted, which my doctor said should help. People keep telling me to be patient, but it’s not like I will wake up one day and the fat will simply melt off of me, so I’m not sure exactly what I am supposed to be patient for. However, all I can do is keep going, so that’s what I’m doing. I’m not going to pretend it’s not a daily struggle for me though.

What I learned: I feel so much better when I make it a point to work out in the morning. Waking up at 5 a.m. is no fun at all, but I feel great for the rest of the day. The best part is that I have my evenings free to spend with JP and B. I am a much happier and more balanced person when I make this happen, so I am going to continue doing it (despite the increasingly chilly air I’m waking up to – BRR!).

To catch up on my challenge, check out my:

Tell me what you enjoyed, disliked, and learned in terms of your workouts. What were your struggles, successes, and takeaways?

model-994718_640

27 thoughts on “90 Day Fitness Challenge: BeFiT in 90, Blogilates, and Tone It Up (Day 22 to 28)

  1. My abs are my tough spot. After 3 kids and recovering from back injury via physical therapy I am now progressing nicely via the gym as therapy has ended.

    I haven’t been following your workout routines since I have to do specific exercises to strengthen my back and core but now that I’m getting stronger and can see a marked improvement in my stamina, mood and perspective on life in general I’m willing to widen my scope of exercises to keep things fun.

    I don’t like being on the floor at all just like you don’t like anything which involves jumping πŸ˜€ so I usually leave the gym feeling like that’s the one area that has made the least progress.

    I know once I increase my running time and mph my body will have to work harder and eventually I will see the results in my abs too but I’m not there yet. I’ve only been at the gym one month.

    So best wishes to you in your journey. Just wanted to offer a bit of support. Happy Holidays. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the encouragement! I will take being up and down off the floor over jumping any day, so we all have our issues, lol. I also have back issues (I’ve had surgery), so I am finding the yoga and pilates to be very helpful even though I struggle with both. But hey, nothing worth having comes easy!

      Happy holidays to you as well! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi scarletpen28! It’s wonderful to make your acquaintance! Thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog! I love meeting new people and learning new things from their blogs…and as someone who seriously needs to make some lifestyle adjustments in the realm of physical fitness and wellness, I’ve found some topics here I’d like to learn more about! I’m looking forward to reading more and getting to know you better! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The reason patience is needed is because it can take time to regulate thyroid activity and function and slowly restore metabolic function. Guess what interferes with this process, STRESS. Stay focused on doing the right thing knowing your body is benefiting. How is the nutrition going this time of year?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought you might have something to say about patience! Lol.

      I’m actually the one hosting everything, so I’m not having a junk overload because that’s not what I’m serving. I made cookies to fill Christmas tins as small gifts (100s of cookies!) and I only ate 1 (it was broken)! That’s a really big deal for me πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am in desperate need to do morning workouts….I just have not been able to manage it yet.
    Starting next week I will be doing 2 nights of Zumba. Its an hour of cardio with some body weight exercises mixed in. And I will be working out from home another 1-2 days a week.

    I know that I will feel so much better if I work out in the morning BUT its SOOOO EARLY! LOL I have an issue with anything that involves me getting out of bed before 6am.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hate waking up early too. I am so grumpy that I don’t even want my husband to look in my direction, lol.

      However, I love the freedom of coming home and being able to do whatever I want guilt-free.

      Exercise isn’t something I enjoy (unfortunately), so it’s just another “to do” for me. The sooner I can check it off, the better!

      Zumba (and dancing in general) is great cardio. I’m just SO uncoordinated. However, my husband did (finally) set up my elliptical, so I am eager to use it!

      Like

      1. I havent been about to physically get myself out of bed early enough to workout in the AM as of yet. Thats my goal…even if I just get up and sit there…maybe once I;ve done for for a week or two I will be more used to getting up that early. 😦 I do not feel very positive about the outcome of this though haha

        My girlfriend does Zumba with me. She is the person that is the LEAST coordinated that I know. The group we are in is just amazing and we are non judgemental and there just to have fun and get our cardio on. Its a great time.

        Have fun using your eliptical! I wish I had room for one. Im jealous!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

