My New Year Blog Plan

I hope that everyone was able to enjoy some down time over the holidays and that you celebrated in a way that was meaningful to you. As for us, holidays are still a challenge without my dad around, but we spent lots of time together and did our best to make some special memories.

I can’t help but think of a new year as a fresh start, but I’ve never been one to make resolutions. I make changes as I need to and I think it’s important to set goals throughout the year and not just at the beginning of a new one. However, January will bring some new structure to my blog!

writing-923882_640Introducing My New Blog Cadence

I have created an editorial calendar for the year in order to provide a consistent cadence of updates for my readers. My blog has a little bit of this and a little bit of that, which means that there is something for everyone.

Here’s a preview of what is to come:

Monday Mix-up

You will find a post that is not related to fitness, health, or wellness every Monday. I will rotate between my other categories, such as married life, dog’s life, lifestyle, musings, and my bucket lists. I am going to write more personal pieces because they are always my most popular posts (thank you!). I am also hoping to collaborate with other bloggers, so if you are interested in working with me, please send me an email: scarletpen@outlook.com.

Some upcoming posts include:

  • A financial health series, which includes topics like mortgage tips and easy ways to save money
  • B‘s health saga, which includes a mast cell tumor and a thermal burn as a result of his surgery to remove the tumor
  • My seasonal bucket lists
  • Cheap, easy, and fun date ideas
  • The confessions of an ex-party girl (believe it or not, that’s me)
  • One product that can save your dog’s life (and that you probably don’t have)
  • How to keep marriage exciting despite monotony

couple-915992_640

Wellness Wednesday

I will dedicate Wednesdays to wellness posts (but this will not be solely fitness updates). DK has recently told me that she thinks my fitness updates are too long and she is the one person (other than my mom and my husband) who I can always be 100% honest with. We go to each other for the cold hard truth and we don’t sugar coat it. In fact, my day would not be complete without our daily bickering! As such, I am incorporating her feedback to provide fewer and shorter fitness updates and focusing on other wellness content that I think will be more valuable instead.

Some upcoming posts include:

  • Healthy recipes (What’s Cooking)
  • One fitness update per month in a new format (Fitness)
  • Changes I’m making to my lifestyle, such as my upcoming sugar detox (Health)
  • My quest for non-toxic personal care and household products (this will include easy recipes for the products I’m opting to make rather than buy)
meditation-609235_640 (2)
Thursday Tips

On Thursdays, I am introducing a new series where I will provide quick tips and life hacks. My first focus will be on Health Tips where I will share some healthy living ideas that I’ve incorporated into my own life. Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, so I am not trying to provide you with medical advice. I’m just sharing what’s worked for me.

Upcoming series include:

  • Sex from A t o Z
  • Organization from A to Z
beach-677124_640Photo Friday

My husband, JP, is going to host a guest series on my blog called Photo Friday. I am really excited to profile more of his work because he is very talented and it will also give my readers a sneak peek into our private life together. You will find these posts in the Through My Lens section.

cannon-698779_640Thank You!

As always, thank you for reading, liking, and commenting on my posts. I really appreciate everyone who follows along with me. If you haven’t clicked follow yet, I do hope that my new plan will inspire you to do so. It is my goal to provide relevant, meaningful, and relatable content.

If you have any feedback, comments, or suggestions for me, I’d love to hear them. My next post will be January 4, 2016. Have a happy new year!

77 thoughts on “My New Year Blog Plan

  1. Quite an ambitious undertaking. Hope you still find time to feed B! 🙂
    Hopefully this new blog style adds a little stress relief for you as well. This is a wonderful manner to “unload” toxic feelings that life seems to create. Wishing you and your family a healthy and Happy New Year!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You will not be surprised to learn that the majority of my posts are drafted in advance and scheduled to publish automatically. That removes the stress factor and, besides, writing is therapeutic for me so I’m having fun blogging away 🙂

      My new plan is definitely more content than I am used to providing, but a lot of it is ready to go. Rather than trying to find time to write each day a post is scheduled, I use some time over the weekend (or dedicate an entire evening) to drafting content instead. It’s working well so far!

      Maybe my dream of being a full time blogger, stay at home dog mama, and novel writing extraordinaire will come true for me in 2016!

      Happy new year to you and yours as well 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I appreciate your kind words. When I first started blogging, it was just on a whim. However, now I’m determined to be successful and am trying out a new formula 🙂

      Your blog has STUNNING photographs and I am looking forward to seeing more of them!

      Like

    1. I have been posting twice a week, so four times a week will be a big change. However, it’s important to me so I want to do it. Having a plan takes away the stress of thinking about what to write!

      Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my candy cane heart DIY tutorial! I wanted to drop in and take a look at your blog as well and I really liked this post and I’m interested in seeing where you’ll take your blog in the new year. I love how organized you are and I hope that as I build my fairly “green” and new blog, I can eventually have a steady following and have some more structure the way you do 🙂

    I hope you will continue to follow my blog’s progress and I look forward to seeing your new posts in the New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey there 🙂 Thank you for dropping by. I will definitely follow along with you as well (just clicked the follow button!) as I love to connect with fellow bloggers.

      I am still a “green” blogger too. I’ve only been at it since the end of July and it all feels very new to me! I am figuring things out as I go and enjoying the process immensely.

      Happy new year! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You definitely have a great foundation for your blog and I love the formatting and everything with all of your drop-down menus at the top! I hope in the future I’ll be as organized as you haha 🙂 Thank you so much for the follow and happy new year to you as well!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great plan! I like how organized and focused it is! I’m still figuring out how to structure my blog and make it less random! Looking forward to reading about the confessions from an ex party girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Blogging is a just a hobby versus a job, but I wanted to add some more structure. I think it will make things easier.

      I’m glad that my plan inspired you! I will come check out your plan, if you decide to post it.

      Thank you for reading 🙂

      Like

  4. Sounds fantastic. I’m looking forward to reading about lots of the topics you mentioned. Health, well being, finances, sex, marriage – wow, that’s a big array of topics. I take my hat off to you- you’re undeniably versatile! Happy new year to you. I hope the year ahead is a wonderful one!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are absolutely awesome. As I was reading this post I was like wow, she’s working on her content calendar and as I finished reading your post and got to About You – boom!!! You are in Marketing comms. Love it. I love your ambition and how real you are. If you’re ever interested in collaborating let me know. I just recently started blogging again so my blog is still new but would welcome any feedback you can throw my way. Xoxoox!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words! Yes, you caught me…I have a content calendar for the year, which came naturally to me because of work. I started blogging on a whim, but I definitely am more intentional about it now.

      I will definitely check out your blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

