My Favourite Home Workouts: Jillian Michaels

No matter how many free workout programs that I try online, I always come back to Jillian Michaels. Her workouts are as tough as you want to make them, her style is very motivational, and she has so many different videos available (each with different levels), which means that there is always a routine to appeal to your mood and help you to reach your goals.

I have almost every DVD that Jillian has ever made, so I feel like I am in a good position to provide you with reviews and recommendations. Overall, I can tell you that Jillian loves circuits, so there is always going to be repetition in her routines, but the moves are effective and always leave me sore the next day. I have never finished one of her videos and felt like I didn’t get a good workout.

Personal update: I’ve been combining Jillian’s DVDs with my 21 day sugar detox and seeing great results!

IMG_0526 (2)

Have you ever tried a Jillian Michaels workout? Jillian’s workouts have changed my life (for real) – she taught me proper form, kept me motivated, and helped me lose weight. One gal I know lost over 100 pounds in a year with Jillian’s workouts and meal plans.

My Favourite Jillian Michaels’ Fitness DVDs
Shreds

Beginner Shred. If you are just starting out on your fitness journey and you are overwhelmed by how challenging workouts feel (don’t worry, I’ve been there), this DVD is a great place to begin.

One Week Shred. If you are just looking to drop a few pounds before an event, a change in season, or simply because you feel like it, this is an excellent program. Keep in mind, it’s very intense and not designed for beginners.

30 Day Shred. This is a classic Jillian workout program. The first time I did level one many years ago, I ended up being so exhausted that I had to go take a nap (seriously). I lost 15 pounds the first time that I did this program andย I still use level 2 and 3 as part of my workout rotation to this day.

Ripped in 30. I actually prefer this DVD to the 30 Day Shred because it has four levels and more challenging workouts (don’t worry, Jillian always provides beginner modifications and emphasizes form, which a lot of free programs fail to do).

Shred it with Weights. This is an excellent kettle bell workout that mixes in Jillian’s favourite cardio intervals (you can also use dumbbells). If you only have 30 minutes per day to workout, this is a great DVD that comes with two different levels. If I use a 15 pound weight, level 1 can still make me sore!

Extreme Shed and Shred. This DVD has two 45 minutes workouts, one that is cardio based and one that is strength based. You can either rotate them, do them together, or complete the strength training in the morning (to keep your metabolism firing all day) and then the cardio routine in the evening. It also comes with a meal plan to help ensure that you see results.

Targeted Videos

No More Trouble Zones. If you have a bit longer to work out (45 minutes), this is an excellent video that targets common problem areas with toning moves, while leaving in the necessary cardio intervals to burn fat. I wish that it was possible to spot reduce fat, but unfortunately it’s not!

Killer Buns and Thighs. I recently completed a 30 Day Butt Lift Challenge, but this video is tougher. When I did the challenge, I wanted a change from my usual workout staples and I’m glad that I tried it, but Jillian is the trainer who has captured my heart. I will always return to her!

6 Week Six-Pack. Let’s be honest: abs are made in the kitchen, not the gym. You are probably not going to get a six-pack after finishing this program, but it’s still an excellent way to work your core and I’m sure that you will see improvements, if not abs.

Killer Arms and Back. This is one of Jillian’s newer DVDs and she is very inventive with how she works your arms and back. I’m loving this program!

Full Body

Killer Body. This is a great full body workout program. It offers three different 30 minute workoutsย and you are supposed to complete each one twice per week for maximum results.

Hard Body. This program is two 45 minute workouts. The routines are solid, but I should mention that the camera angles are kind of strange and distracting.

Body Revolution. This is a 90 day program that has three different phases. You can change your body in 30 minutes a day, which I never used to believe. However, if you work smart then you can condense an hour long workout in half and see results.

Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism. This 40 minute interval routine incorporates cardio, strength, and core work to help trigger weight loss. You don’t need weights or equipment, so this DVD is great for people who are just starting their home gym!

Yoga

Yoga Inferno. Jillian has another yoga video (meltdown), but I wouldn’t recommend it. Inferno is a challenging “Jillian-style” yoga video that traditional yogis might find off-putting. It’s Jillian, so expect cardio intervalsย and a challenging yoga-inspired workout versus a relaxing stretch session.

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

37 thoughts on “My Favourite Home Workouts: Jillian Michaels

    1. Agreed! Apparently I respond well to people yelling at me when I work out because I’m also a fan of Shaun T.

      Her motivational speeches at the end of her videos are awesome though and you can see the kindness and genuineness she has in her.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Love JM workouts. My personal favorite right now is Body Revolution. 90 day progressive program that starts slow and builds on each week. Like you said, the best about JM is how the workout can be as challenging as you make it. Love that about her! Great post. Love the list of the other single titles, I’m going to have to pick up a few.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reminding me about Body Revolution, I am going to add it to the list ๐Ÿ™‚

      It’s easy to “cheat” when you’re at home with no one watching, but Jillian has an uncanny ability to know when I’m thinking about it and she reminds me that I’m only cheating myself.

      Like

  2. I was doing her workouts (30 Day Shred) pretty consistently last winter until I fell out of the habit, but I was never sure how often we were supposed to be doing the workouts and when to switch to another level. I was planning to work out each level for about 10 days (with one rest day a week) and then move on to the next level. Do you think I was planning to do it right? Also, even though I didn’t do that I still saw results!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I recommend doing each level until you feel ready to move to the next. I think 10 days is a good target, but if you feel ready to move on sooner (or you need to stay on one level a little longer), that’s totally fine too. I did the program 5 days a week with one day of yoga or pilates and one day completely off. I do like to add a little variety to my life ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m pretty bad at sticking with workout programs, but I went through a phase where 30 Day Shred, No More Trouble Zones and Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism in rotation were my workouts. Her DVDs in part were what made me realize I don’t need to be in a gym to get a good workout… I love JM!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My niece recently had a baby – OK- three years ago – but the baby weight just wouldn’t budge. She found the 30 day shred and has been doing it pretty faithfully for about four months now and has lost 35 pounds. AND she looks GREAT! She loves the videos because they are only 20 minutes so she doesn’t get bored.

    I lost ten pounds and then lost my commitment along with it. Gotta get back on the shred because it really does work and in a very short amount of time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was skeptical that it would work because of how short the workouts are, but I was pleasantly surprised to lose as much weight as I did. Of course, you need to eat properly too, but it’s wonderful to get your workout for the day done in under 30 minutes.

      Good luck to you and your niece ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Aah yes! I love JM, when I first started working out I used her videos big time, and still do. One of her videos is always my fallback option. My favorite is probably the Body Revolution. I did that program before my wedding and started seeing definition in my body for the first time ever!

    Can I ask why you don’t recommend Yoga Meltdown? It’s another one of my (admittedly less intense) favs of hers!

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like she has a bad attitude in Yoga Meltdown, as though she doesn’t actually respect the discipline. Inferno isn’t traditional yoga, but is more yoga inspired and a better overall workout (in my opinion!).

      Thank you for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. I have 30-Day Shred. It’s fun, but when I work out, I like to go at it for a good hour without repeating, so I tend to mix and match Firm Express DVDs and old-school Firm Fanny Lifter workouts. What I like about 30-Day Shred is that there isn’t any fancy choreography, so it’s good for people who want to try something new without having the stop-and-go of learning footwork. I just wish she’d have done more of the workout herself in it. I like to think the instructors are suffering right along with me. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have her ripped in 30 and yoga meltdown workouts. I bought ripped in 30 after I had my daughter, I tried it and it about killed me! Lol..I think my body just wasn’t ready for her workouts yet, but I’m going to do it after I’m done with the current workout I’ve been doing this week..wish me luck! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I am so glad to see you sharing your experiences with the world. This is the BEST method to get people up and moving. Your reviews show you take your workouts seriously and add credibility to your recommendations.

    I am also excited that the 21 day detox and workout combo is working so well for you. I am looking forward one day to hear you advise others about the importance of patience, dedication, hard work and the payoff that makes all this worth it! I get inspired thinking about your potential to help others!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really look forward to the day that I can write that post too! I can’t wait to share that all of my efforts have been worthwhile, that I’ve resolved some of my health conditions, that I’ve lost weight, and most importantly, that I feel healthy and well.

      I will learn how to be patient by force ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  9. whoa that’s a lot of workouts she’s created. do you own all of them? i do find that traditional “working out” to not be able to keep my interest… probably b/c i don’t enjoy working out, per se so i find that doing it as intentional exercise to be pretty dull.. i’d rather do doing something like “functional exercise” or riding, cycling or yoga-ing b/c i don’t feel like i’m working out… i’d be spending time with my horse, getting stretched or seeing scenery! but i do love what i have seen of jillian. she’s amazing.

    Like

    1. I own every single one and intend to buy every new release, lol.

      I don’t like exercise either, but I know I have to do it in order to lose weigh (in addition to getting my eating right, which is even more important).

      The good thing about most Jillian workouts are that they are short, so you know you only have 20 minutes and then you’re done. I agree that actually getting out and doing things is more fun though!

      Like

      1. Aww, haha. I like them. I actually have a hard time eating all the food each day. Lol.
        Just the workouts are fun though!! She keeps me motivated throughout; even when I want to give up. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel like many people are against having a coach because they know it’s commission based. I have not seen very positive reception to the idea. I’m glad that it’s working out well for you though!

        Like

  10. Hi. Girl I know exactly what you mean! And some ppl do it just for the commission and others for the love of helping others! That’s why I’m in it and I had to realize everyone has their opinions but as long as I’m doing what I know in my heart is right and serving others then I’m happy! Thank about it๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ’—

    Like

Leave a Reply

