Health Tip #2: Take Good Care of Your Eyes

I am a firm believer in preventative care rather than waiting for a health concern to present itself. I think that the eyes are often overlooked because many people think they don’t need regular eye examinations if they aren’t experiencing any vision problems. Even if you have “perfect” vision, eye examinations by a qualified professional should be on your radar because the doctor isn’t just testing to see if you require a new prescription or a change to an existing one. Serious conditions and eye diseases can also be detected early through regular examinations, which may allow your vision to be preserved.

Health Tip #2: Take Good Care of Your Eyes

eye-716008_640 (2)
Some of us are more proactive about taking care of our vehicles than our bodies! Add eye care to your regular health care regime.

5 Eye Care Tips
  1. Get regular eye exams.
  2. Wear protective eyewear when you are working around the house (read: weed whacking versus mopping the floor), playing sports, or handling hazardous materials.
  3. Eat foods that support positive eye health, such as dark leafy greens and fish with omega-3. You can also take omega-3 supplements if you aren’t a fan of eating fish!
  4. Wear sunglasses that protect your eyes from harmful UVA and UVB radiation (even in the winter!).
  5. Rest your eyes when you are using a computer for extended periods of time.

Do you get regular eye examinations? I wear glasses, so I’ve been having eye examinations for as long as I can remember!

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

42 thoughts on “Health Tip #2: Take Good Care of Your Eyes

  1. I think you have uncovered a mystery for me. Maybe, people don’t follow a healthy lifestyle because they can’t “see” the best path to follow? I am sending out a broad based email to the world to have their eyes examined. Thank you for your advice!! πŸ˜€

    Seriously, this recommendation is an important one. This helps reinforce the message of preventative health care and the benefits it offers.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s pretty incredible what a dilated eye exam can discover about other systemic problems with the body. Our doctors are constantly discovering/diagnosing diabetes, serious hypertension issues, MS, syphilis, etc. Once my boss actually saw something unusual in a dilated eye exam, sent the patient for a series of tests and it was discovered that she had stage 2 ovarian cancer. All because of a routine eye exam. Pretty incredible stuff!

      Liked by 3 people

  2. I work for an eye care clinic, so I’m pretty biased, but yes, anything that’s good for your heart is good for your eyes! To this list I’d add: stop smoking if you smoke (don’t start if you don’t), follow your contact lens instructions EXACTLY and replace your eye makeup every 3 months. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t had this done for so long, embarrassingly long actually! I was just thinking about that this morning, how I need to take more action when it comes to both preventative care and also when I think something weird is going on. This is a great reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have 20/20 vision and I still see my eye doctor yearly. It use to be every two years but since being diagnosed diabetic its yearly. This is an important reminder for everyone. Eye health is often forgotten.

    Like

      1. It is a good thing I don’t have blue eyes, I have green. I know that some individuals eyes hurt really bad when out in the sun. I must have trained my eyes to be tough.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for this post! A few years ago, I started having constant headaches for no apparent reason. I hadn’t gone in for an eye test in over 4 years, so I made an appointment, not putting two and two together. While I was there, I found out I was suffering from a pretty significant astigmatism, and that my eyes were actually crossing themselves whenever I looked at a book or screen, which was causing the headaches. I didn’t realize this was the case; the only clue I noticed was that whenever I read a book at bedtime, I would find myself closing one eye. Eyes are so important…and you can go through needless pain and discomfort if you don’t give them the attention they need!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve worn glasses for nearly as long as I can remember so regular exams are part of my life, and have been for years. Growing up with free spirited hippies as parents, and an eventual single mom, my preventative and/or proactive healthcare wasn’t always a priority. Now that I have kids though, they have every checkup and dental visit and eye exam that they should. I wanted better for them than I got as a kid, and I’m giving them that. Great post and great advice for those who don’t get eye exams regularly. πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My husband has 20/20 vision and never used to get his eyes checked regularly…until he met me and I insisted! I think unless you’re experiencing a vision problem, it’s not top of mind to see an eye doctor, but it SHOULD be before it gets to that point.

      Thank you for reading πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

