Banana Cream Pie Overnight Oats

I am currently doing a sugar detox, so I can’t indulge in my usual oatmeal for breakfast. However, that doesn’t mean that you can’t! Overnight oats are simple to make, healthy, filling, and delicious. What more could you ask for in your breakfast companion on a busy weekday morning?

1

Have you ever tried to make overnight oats? What is your favourite recipe?

Banana Cream Pie Overnight Oats

There are so many varieties of overnight oats that you can make and I am always creating new recipes. I think a good starting point is banana cream pie in a jar!

Ingredients
  • 1 cup of oats (I recommend using these awesome measuring tools)
  • 2/3 cup of vanilla soy milk (you can also use almond milk or regular milk)
  • 1/3 cup of vanilla yogurt (if you don’t like yogurt, add an extra 1/3 cup of milk)
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons of unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds
  • 6 walnuts (I put mine in the food processor but that’s not strictly necessary)
  • Spices to taste. I like nutmeg and cinnamon
Directions

Slice the banana into thin pieces. You can use the pieces as they are or you can mash them. I have even heard of some people microwaving their banana so it turns to goo, but I wasn’t a fan of that approach when I tried it.

Combine all of the ingredients into a mason jar. The ingredient quantities that I provided work well in the mason jars that I have, but you may need to adjust depending on the size of the jar that you use. Ideally, the jar is not completely full so that you have room to mix the ingredients. I like to layer the ingredients to make mixing easier, but that is also an optional step.

Stir the ingredients and/or shake the jar until everything is well mixed.

Refrigerate overnight. My husband, JP, likes to heat his overnight oats up in the microwave whereas I prefer to eat them cold. For this particular recipe, I highly recommend eating the oatmeal cold because that’s how real banana cream pie is served.

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

19 thoughts on “Banana Cream Pie Overnight Oats

  1. Wow! That sounds like it makes A LOT of oats…is this recipe for two servings? Does the banana get all gross if you made a double batch and had one serving the next day and the other serving the day after that? I’m always looking for new breakfast options. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It fills up my little mason jar, so it keeps me going from 5 am until noon when I have lunch. I guess it is a lot of oats! You could definitely break it into 2 jars if you don’t like big breakfasts.

      The oats last for about 3 days in the fridge. I’ve learned that from the days that I forgot to bring them to work and then tried to eat them the next day (or even the one after that!). Any more than 3 days and they get pretty gross…like throw in the garbage gross!

      Let me know if you try it out! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on spencesgirl and commented:
    I’ve recently discovered this blog – and chia seeds, making many o’ healthy breakfast in a mason jar. This sounds so delicious I had to share it with my followers! Thank you to Scarlet Pen @ lifeat 28andcounting.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a big fan of oats. I eat organic steel cut oats at the gym immediately after exercising. I also drink a protein shake mixed with a post workout support. Fast, easy, healthy nutrition that satiates and reduces CRAVINGS. The only potential drawback is the purine content as well as a potential source of intestinal inflammation. Small amounts (in my opinion) offer greater benefit than risk.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did read about the purine level, so I’m going easy on oats for awhile given some of the other health challenges that I currently have. I absolutely LOVE overnight oats, so it’s a shame, but I can find alternatives!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I make my breakfast in a jar with oats, crushed fruits(banana, kiwi, or berries), chia seeds, agave, pollen and milk (almond, soy, rice, coconut), of your choice. It’s really good. My husband eats this at work between meals.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

