Health Tip #3: Wear Sunscreen, Even in The Winter Months

The American Academy of Dermatology recommends that people wear sunscreen every day if they plan to be outside. Even on cloudy days, up to 80 percent of the sun’s harmful UV rays can penetrate your skin (the shade does not make you completely safe!).

A lot of people wear sunscreen in the summer months, but neglect sun care the rest of the year, which is dangerous. Did you know that, similar to sand and water, snow reflects the sun’s rays? This increases the need for sunscreen, even when it’s freezing outside.  

Your dog can also get sunburned, especially if he or she has short and/or white fur. B is used to having sunscreen applied and we use a safe brand with natural ingredients so that even if he licks some off (hey, it happens), I’m not worried. Any brand that is safe for babies and children is also safe for your dog if you don’t want to invest in “dog sunscreen.”

According to the American Cancer Society, skin cancer is the most common of all cancers. The best way to lower your risk of skin cancer is to avoid long exposure to intense sunlight. That doesn’t mean that you can’t enjoy the outdoors – you just need to practice safe sun!

Health Tip #3: Wear Sunscreen, Even in The Winter Months

snow-shoes-417933_640Even your favourite winter sports require sun protection.

Unfortunately, choosing a sunscreen to protect your skin is not as simple as selecting whatever brand is on sale at Walmart. Some sunscreens contain harmful toxins and your skin absorbs 60% of whatever you apply to it. Some people follow the advice that if you wouldn’t be willing to eat it, you shouldn’t put it on your skin.

The Environmental Working Group releases a sunscreen guide on an annual basis, which is a great resource for finding safe sunscreen options (as well as brands that you should definitely avoid – I think you will be surprised by the results!). The sunscreen of choice in our household? Badger brand. Please be very selective when choosing what to apply to your skin!

Confession: I am as pale as a ghost snow white. I should mention that if you are used to sunscreens like Banana Boat and Coppertone, healthier options will take some getting use to. They are much thicker and have a very different consistency, so less is more.

Do you practice safe sun? What is your sunscreen brand of choice?

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

10 thoughts on “Health Tip #3: Wear Sunscreen, Even in The Winter Months

  1. Most people only think skin protection from the summer sun. You are right. Prolonged outdoor exposure needs protection. However, I do like short term exposure (up to 20 minutes) without protection to provide the body a chance to synthesize some good Vitamin D.

    I also like the fact that you increase awareness to harmful ingredients in most commercial sunscreen protection products. This is greatly down played by the manufacturers and rarely reported by the media.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I am outside in the sun for even 10 minutes without protection, I get red (they called me Casper as a kid! True story! lol). I take a vitamin D supplement, but I suppose it would be better to get it direct if you are able.

      I always thought I was doing a good thing for myself by slathering on sunscreen and when I checked the brand out in further detail online, I was appalled by what I was putting on my skin. I can’t believe they can sell that stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If you think that’s bad, check up what’s found in commercial toothpastes that’s absorbed through the lining in the mouth. You probably already know this because I believe you make your own toothpaste as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I do! Homemade toothpaste does not taste the best though, lol. It’s actually kind of awful. JP had a suggestion to improve my recipe though (self-preservation, I assume), so I am going to try that before I post it. I suppose the stuff that “tastes good” is likely what makes commercial toothpaste so awful for us.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I use a cc cream that has spf 30 every day, but I also use Coola for my body/face if I’m going to be outdoors for more than just walking to from my car. I love Coola for their Eco-friendliness and their belief that what we put on our bodies is just as important as what in our bodies!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

