DIY Personal Care Products

I have been focused on becoming healthier through diet and exercise. However, the next step in my wellness journey is revamping the personal care products that I put on my body every day. Did you know that your skin absorbs 60% of whatever you’re applying to it topically? That’s pretty scary considering that many of the personal care products on the market today (yes, even from brands that you trust) contain known carcinogens, chemicals, and other toxins that can disrupt how your body functions.

Unless you are willing to eat it, you shouldn’t rub it all over your body. I was mindful of that piece of guidance when I started searching for healthy personal care products for my family. I spent hours searching for brands that claimed to contain non-toxic ingredients only to find out that the claims were false. One of my key sources of information was the database that the Environmental Working Group (EWG) created called Skin Deep. The group has a mission to protect human health and the environment by providing consumers with information about the products they’re purchasing. Wouldn’t it be nice if manufacturers were more transparent and the EWG wasn’t required?

puppy-1022421_640 (2)After realizing that it was near impossible to purchase already made safe products (even some well-known health and wellness bloggers recommend ingredients that aren’t completely safe according to the EWG), I decided to embark on a journey to create my own all-natural products that I can be 100% certain are safe and non-toxic. I never thought that I’d be “one of those people” (JP says that I’m turning into a hippie), but I don’t see any alternative. Once you know something, you can’t “unknow” it, so how can I, in good faith, purchase products that are disrupting my health, my organs, and my body’s essential processes? The short answer: I can’t.

I will share some of my personal recipes (and exactly what ingredients I used for the most success), as well as my results using them. With my thyroid issues, my hair is literally falling out, so I am hoping that taking chemicals out of my life will help. I’m also determined to cure my eczema naturally. I will let you know how I make out!

What is your personal care routine? Would you consider making your own products?

skincare-1122666_640 (2)

32 thoughts on “DIY Personal Care Products

  1. I’ve been using sweet almond oil every day after I shower for a month and my eczema was gone in a week! Granted, it wasn’t that bad in the first place. But still! πŸ™‚ Either way, I LOVE EWG and I’m looking forward to this series!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Almond oil is one ingredient that I’m playing around with. I am going through a lot of trial and error and JP and I are suffering through some bad product batches, lol. I will get it right though and it will be worth it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is fabulous. I can’t wait to see what kind of recipes you will share. Ironically I was just going to blog about this too. My hair has been dramatically thinning for the last few years and I am transitioning to more natural products with less hash chemicals. Though I know most of them are not 100% all natural i am going to see if this makes a difference. I have also thought that it could be my thyroid due to that and I have gained 20 lbs in the past 4 months. Are there any symptoms I that indicate a thyroid problem? I am hoping to see my primary in the next month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My symptoms were weight gain that I didn’t deserve (I wasn’t eating badly and I was actively exercising), a very hard time losing weight, and also significant hair loss (to the point I was crying). It’s just a simple blood test that can give your doctor an indication of your hormone levels, so I recommend doing a quick check ASAP! Natural products have been making my hair look pretty great so far, so I’m quite pleased about that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been looking for a log time for over the counter products that are truly healthy and like you have not been successful in finding anything. I am in the process of creating my own products as well. There isn’t a darn thing wrong with being a hippie!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s pretty sad that you can’t buy truly safe products anywhere. I don’t mind making them because I’m always cooking or baking something anyway. I will laugh the day that JP accidentally eats one of my products thinking it’s a snack…that will teach him! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome series idea! We had a company in RI that tried their own natural line and it did great…too great that it gets too big and other companies get involved and then boom! Toxic chemical start showing up…

    I will follow this series closely and try out everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the problem exactly. You can’t trust companies anymore (or maybe you never could). I feel like a lot of people are jumping on the health bandwagon, especially millennials, so then these natural companies get popular…and then become less natural. I would really rather not be making my own concoctions, but I’ve been left with no choice!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Honestly this one is the best. 1 cup sugar, 1/3 cup olive/coconut oil, 1/4 cup lemon juice. I usually double the recipe. It’s best to use when you’re shaving your legs you scrub your legs before you shave them and after and you will have the smoothest legs. You can use it actually like shaving cream but I like to use shaving cream inbetween. My friends makes it with the coconut oil and just uses it as a body scrub. Enjoy, Looking forward to reading your natural body products recipes. I’m a huge believer in LUSH products because they are natural and you can read and know every ingredient on the container.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have heard about Lush, but they aren’t in the EWG database, so I didn’t want to risk it. Companies sneak lots of things in, especially under the term “fragrance,” which can mean any number of things, none of them good. I don’t think I will ever go commercial again because there are, at the very least, preservatives so that they have some sort of shelf-life.

      Thank you for sharing you recipe! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love EWG. I discovered them a few years ago and have been slowly replacing a lot of my personal care stuff. I’m looking forward to your series. I’ve made a few things like toothpaste with coconut oil and homemade bath bombs but I’d love to do more.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve been spending some time in Asia and I’m completely blown away by the beauty of local women. I am reconsidering the amount of potions and lotions that I usually poor on myself and include in my skincare routine.
    One of Vietnamese ladies told me she washes her face with milk πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi! Thanks for liking my post on The Escritorium! I post on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays. As for recipes, my favourite is a lip scrub. Lips don’t lubricate themselves and often get overlooked in terms of exfoliating. So I like to make a scrub out of 2 tsps coarse brown sugar (demarara) to 4 drops olive oil. Make into a gritty paste and apply in small sections with a clean finger and a buffing motion. Wash off, and try not to eat, and you should be good to go with no need to re-moisturise. You can store it in the fridge in a small container too. Thanks again, ~ P ~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

