The Full Body Workout I’m Loving Right Now

I used to create fitness challenges (see my 30 Day Challenge, T25 Focus, and 90 Day Challenge for evidence) and follow them strictly. I never thought I’d get to the point where I could just “go with the flow” and admittedly I’m not there 100% yet. However, I make my schedule a week in advance now (and not months) so that I can base my workouts on how I feel. I am still far away from reaching my weight loss goal, but I do feel that I am becoming fitter and healthier, which is what I try to focus on (but I’m not going to lie and say I don’t want the weight off yesterday – who wouldn’t?!).

I haven’t provided a fitness update in awhile, so I thought that I would share a full body routine that takes my favourite videos from my previous fitness challenges and combines them into one routine.

woman-1008354_640 How have your workouts been going so far this year? Are your goals still on track?

What You Will Need

Yoga Mat
Dumbbells

Scarlet’s Full Body Routine
Warm-up

Warm-up (5 minutes)

Strength

Arms and Abs (12 minutes)
Legs and Butt
(12 minutes)

Cardio

Tabata (9 minutes – I do it twice)

Flexibility 

Full Body Stretch (12 minutes)

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

26 thoughts on “The Full Body Workout I’m Loving Right Now

  1. Hi there — I’ve followed your various challenges and exercise regimes with interest and admire you for keeping at it. Perhaps you’ve covered this in an earlier post, but since I’m a relative newcomer can you share your successes/accomplishments and/or failures/disappointments? How much weight have you lost, kept off, regained? Any strength achievements, running goals met, body fat and/or BMI improvement, etc? I am curious to hear about what has worked for you and the gains you made. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for following along, I appreciate it. I read your comment yesterday, but I had to think about my answer! It’s not an easy question.

      I am definitely disappointed that it’s taking me so long to lose weight. It’s very frustrating, but I’m learning to be patient with my body and understanding of the medical issues that I’m dealing with.

      I haven’t regained any weight that I’ve lost, thankfully. I’m making permanent and sustainable changes, which is allowing me to keep the weight off because I’m changing my lifestyle (which is likely another reason contributing to my weight loss taking so long).

      I think that working out almost every day is a huge accomplishment and I’m proud of how far I’ve come. Exercises I used to struggle with have become easier and my clothes are fitting much better (some, in fact, are falling off and others I haven’t put on in a long time due to how tight they were now fit nicely).

      It’s definitely not easy and there are no shortcuts or quick fixes. I’m learning to focus on health and not disrespect my body by putting it through unhealthy crash diets. I’m in this for the long haul and I learn something new every day! I do have a long way to go, but I’m trying to positive about the process. I never should have let myself gain so much weight, but at least I’m doing something about it rather than being content with the status quo.

      Like

      1. Good for you. The long view is definitely the right approach. FWIW, on March 1 last year I said enough is enough. Made some big changes. Started working out, started eating better. No fad diet, just common sense. I’ve lost 65 pounds and gone from way over 30 per cent body fat to under 14%. One thing I’ve learned: working out is about 25 per cent of the solution; the other 75 per cent is what you eat. You can’t out train poor dietary habits. So if I’m working out hard and consistently and not losing weight and my body shape isn’t changing, then it’s a diet issue. So for me, that means no white flour products — pasta, bread, etc. Whole grains only. No refined sugar. No processed food — try not to eat anything that comes in a package. A lot less meat, a lot more vegetables and fruits. Reduce/eliminate alcohol. It’s hard but it can be done. I’d like to lose another five pounds but I’m pretty much where I need to be in terms of weight. I now focus on strength, agility, speed, stamina, etc. If you told me a year ago I’d have a 34 inch waist, I would not believe it.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. It has helped me so much I have thyroid issues and PCOS and lose weight at a snail’s pace, even when eating kale like 5 times a day and clean eating. But it doesn’t sound like you have as much to lose as I do. But if you are interested in it, let me know. I am not an overly active coach when it comes to selling, but I have sold a few of the products because my friends can’t believe how it has changed my body shape. I like that you do your own thing. I realized that after I asked it. Btw, I love your blog. I have probably told you that before. Have a great day!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’ve really got my attention now because I have thyroid issues as well and it’s taking me foooooorever to lose weight even when eating clean. I actually do have quite a big weight loss goal (I read your blog and I know our goals are similar in this sense – mine might be a little higher), so I am definitely interested!

        Thank you for your kind words about my blog. I am enjoying yours as well, especially the spiritual pieces (I’m just finding my way with this part of my life) and how genuine your writing is. I think we should definitely connect! My email is scarletpen@outlook.com if you agree 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I agree. I actually have a whole bunch to lose. I am just trying to take it a little at a time. I remember being your age and just beginning to find God or want to be closer to God. I always believed, but something clicked at 25. I will email you tonight so that we can connect. So glad to know you!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. My goal is a long way off, I’m afraid. I had been hoping to meet it this year as my husband and I want to have a baby, but its very unlikely to happen until next year given how slowly I lose weight. I need to lose 60 pounds, but ideally 80.

      Like

      1. First aim towards losing that first 10. You can do that in about a month if you’re paying attention to your diet and workouts! Do you track everything? xoxoxo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I plan everything, but I don’t write it down after I plan it. I’m not really willing to spend the extra time doing that and luckily what I’m doing is working (though slowly!).

        Like

Leave a Reply

