Health Tip #6: Add More Colour to Your Diet

Why should you eat a diversity of fruits and vegetables? Well, one single type of fruit or vegetable will not provide all of the nutrients that you need. The Harvard School of Public Health cites benefits like lower blood pressure, reduced risk of heart disease and stroke, cancer prevention, lower risk of eye and digestive problems, and a positive effect upon blood sugar (which can help to keep your appetite in check).

Health Tip #6: Add More Colour to Your Diet

vegetables-790022_640Diversity is the spice of life!

Largely due to my friend DK, I am trying to add more variety to my diet. Once I find something I like, I tend to stick with it rather than push my boundaries and try new things. That even extends to things as simple as fruits and vegetables. Why would I try something I’ve never heard of when I already have a list of tried and tested produce that I know I like? Well, because a diverse and colourful diet is important. But don’t just take DK’s word for it:

As you are choosing your favorite produce, remember to choose color. Deeper colors usually mean that fruits and vegetables are richer in phytonutrients including vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Phytonutrients have been shown to help fight chronic illness, prevent cancer and strengthen the immune system.

Think of dark purple eggplant and blackberries, which are full of antioxidants, vitamins and fiber. Also consider dark green zucchini, spinach, kale and lettuces, which are also rich in vitamins, minerals and fiber. Bright red tomatoes are full of lycopene and antioxidants. Orange cantaloupe melon is rich in vitamins A and C, minerals and hydrating water.

Mayo Clinic

What are your favourite fruits and vegetables in each colour group? Think about deep colours, greens, and bright colours. Are you getting enough in each category?  

16 thoughts on “Health Tip #6: Add More Colour to Your Diet

    1. Green is the easiest for me. Fruit and vegetable diversity is something I still struggle with, but I’m doing my best to incorporate new things. I’m interested in Jerk Fruit 😀 lol. I will have to try it!

      Thank you for sharing 🙂

      Like

      1. Oh, well maybe I won’t be able to find it in Southern Ontario then, lol. BUT the premise remains the same and I am committed to trying new things. Hey, maybe it’s another reason to justify traveling – experiencing new food and cultures! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I love all the colours of the rainbow! Green broccoli, zucchini, celery, peas, kale, spinach , I love them all. Red peppers and strawberries, raspberries, beets. Sweet potatoes, carrots. And bananas. Cauliflower and eggplant to name a few. I’m pretty sure I eat a good variety, but there is still a lot I haven’t tried.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. colourful meals are the best! like red white and green eggplants, purple bell peppers, dinosaur kale, swiss chard (yellow, red or white)… LOL there are also a bunch of asian vegetables that can participate too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have never heard of dinosaur kale and I didn’t know eggplant came in so many colours. I could trick JP into eating it because he think it’s only purple. I think I need to go grocery shopping with you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

