Easy 2 Ingredient Oatmeal Banana Cookies

Trying to lose weight is not a lot of fun, especially if you have a big weight loss goal like I do. However, through trial and error over the years, I have learned that depriving myself of everything I love will not work for the long term and can lead to a binge of all things brownie. I think in the maintenance phase, the 80/20 rule works well (80 percent healthy food for fuel and 20 percent food for comfort) and in the losing weight phase, I raise that number to 90/10 or even 95/5 (sorry).

The best approach is finding healthy food that tastes like comfort food so that you can make smart choices even when you’re “cheating.” I personally have never met a cookie that I didn’t like, so I decided to find a way that I could eat a cookie every single day and still find success with losing weight. Lo and behold, I have done it and now I’d like to share my easy 2 ingredient recipe with all of you! Yes, I seem to have a fixation on oatmeal and bananas lately. Hey, what can I say? The combination just works!

oatmeal banana cookies

What is your favourite healthy treat? How about your favourite not-so-healthy treat? I might be able to “lighten it up” for you in a future post! Requests are welcome πŸ™‚

Easy 2 Ingredient Oatmeal Banana Cookies

You will see many variations of this recipe online, but this a good starting point because it’s simple and you likely have both of the required ingredients on hand.

Ingredients
  • 2 large bananas (ripe bananas are generally recommended, but I find that they make awfully smushy cookies…I prefer slightly green ones)
  • 2 cups of oats (you can use gluten-free oats to easily convert this recipe into a gluten-free one)

Optional Additions

For a little extra flavour, you can add pretty much whatever you like (be careful though – it’s easy to make this recipe unhealthy). For inspiration, consider 1/2 to 1 cup of any of the following (or your favourite combination!):

Directions

Pre-heat the oven to 350Β°F.

Mash the bananas. I use a potato masher.

Grind up the oats in a food processor (I love my Ninja because it’s under $50 and very effective). In the picture above, you will see that I used my awesome measuring tools for the oats. This step is not strictly necessary, but I do find that it makes the cookies taste better.

In a large bowl, mix together the bananas, oats, and any optional additions until well blended.

Drop the dough onto a cookie sheet (I use silicon baking mats to prevent sticking) and flatten it slightly with the back of a wooden spoon.

Bake for about 10 minutes to allow the cookies to set. Keep in mind that these cookies will be the tastiest if they are consumed within 3 days of making them, so freeze any that you think will be “extra” if extra cookies are, in fact, a thing at your house (I wouldn’t know anything about that!). To prevent freezer burn and waste, I use my food saver (best investment ever and a great way to save money).

oatmeal banana cookies Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

20 thoughts on “Easy 2 Ingredient Oatmeal Banana Cookies

    1. This taste a little more like banana breads than true cookies, but when you’re trying to lose weight, sometimes you have to make compromises. And they are still good! Just not as good as a double stuffed oreo. You know πŸ˜€ lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I just jumped on the energy ball bandwagon! I’ve been playing around with recipes this week and hope to post my perfected one this week.

      I love bananas, too. If I can trick myself into thinking I’m having a cookie when I’m really having a banana, then why the hell not?! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That stuff looks so good on the box, but when we saw the YouTube videos of people making it, the final product looked a bit…lumpy. I’m glad to hear that it’s actually tasty! I work in marketing communication and yet I still get tricked by pretty advertising on the box, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

