How to Add More Zinc to Your Life

I once had a friend who never seemed to get sick. She told me that her secret was taking zinc capsules daily. I was skeptical (I usually am), but decided to try it. Surprisingly, it actually worked. However, for some reason (call it laziness or forgetfulness), I stopped taking my supplements. Coincidentally (or not), I have noticed that I have been quite sickly lately (such as last week), so now the correlation between zine and a strong immune system is even stronger in my mind. I started taking my zinc capsules again during my illness, but that’s a bit like locking the barn door after the horse has already escaped. Needless to say, that didn’t work.

In my overall wellness journey, I am striving to stay active, eat clean, and take care of myself mentally, physically, and emotionally. I am becoming less skeptical of natural remedies and more eager to get my “medicine” from food and vitamins. Zinc supplements are my little miracle pill, so I thought that it was only right that I share my secret with all of you.

oysters-924001_640 (2)Why Do You Need Zinc?

The Dietitians of Canada tell us that, zinc is a mineral that your body needs to be healthy. It strengthens your immune system and helps in normal growth and development at all ages.

What Foods Contain Zinc?

It’s easy to take a zinc supplement, but, whenever possible, it’s always better to get your nutrients from the food that you eat (or a combination of the two). Try adding more of the following to your diet:

  • Oysters
  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Turkey
  • Lamb
  • Wheat germ cereal
  • Heart of palm
  • Cheese, particularly ricotta cheese
  • Yogurt
  • Nappa cabbage
  • Beans
  • Lentils
  • Nuts
  • Whole grains
  • Crab, lobster, scallops, and shrimp

When all else fails, take a zinc supplement.

What is your favourite zinc-rich food? I have to admit, I hate oysters, but I made a meatless lentil main course for dinner this week!

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

12 thoughts on “How to Add More Zinc to Your Life

  1. Yes! You definitely need your micros! If you’re sick, it may not be because of zinc, its just due to imbalance, which could be because of acidity levels, any micro (like zinc) or several other factors that lead to imbalance! Good article πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been thinking about going to a naturopath to get a different perspective and some different tests done. You’re right, it might not be zinc, but in my mind it is…so hopefully that tricks my body and I stop getting sick! LOL

      Like

  2. If you are interested in determining true nutritional imbalances, I would highly recommend a good functional medicine practitioner. This integrative approach is gaining worldwide positive reviews and is approaching health from the foundational level. It seeks to uncover root causes and addresses health from many angles.

    I am excited to see your willingness to open your mind to natural remedies. Nothing works all the time, however, utilizing these remedies as COMPONENTS can synergistically magnify the results. If you continue down this path, I will likely be referring to you as Dr. Scarlet Pen in the future. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A naturopathic doctor is a functional practitioner, right? I have found someone I like and I’ve taken the step of subscribing to her newsletter, which I read with interest. I haven’t made an appointment to see her in person yet, but I will!

      I write for a living and I’m always touting how important it is to look at business holistically and yet I haven’t taken the same approach with my own body…yet.

      Food for thought, as usual! I’m glad you’re back πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A naturopathic doctor is NOT a functional practitioner by degree. They can pursue accreditation through The Institute For Functional Medicine (accredited by Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)

        A naturopathic doctor is more inclined to use a more holistic approach, but the science and knowledge that continues to develop integrating a more comprehensive approach to health (in my opinion) is the future of health care. It will gradually overtake the traditional allopathic approach because it addresses issues of functional integration rather than viewing individual conditions and diseases as separate entities.

        Since you like research, I suggest you google Dr. Mark Hyman and Jeffrey Bland, PhD

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Mark Hyman has written a lot about fatty liver and why Americans need to stop drinking soda! I remember him. I will do some additional digging and also check out Jeffrey Bland.

        Thanks, Dr. J! πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

