Health Tip #9: Cook Your Meals in Bulk on Sundays

On a busy weeknight, there is nothing better than coming home and not having to cook dinner. If you get all of your cooking for the week done in one day (or, at the very least, all of your prepping), then you will feel much more relaxed when you get home from work. I like using Sunday as my cooking day, but, of course, the best day is an entirely personal decision.

Health Tip #9:Β Cook Your Meals in Bulk on Sundays

pot-544071_640Another bonus of cooking everything for the week in one day? Only one cleanup! Β 

Not all meals freeze well, which I fully acknowledge. Using your crook pot is another way to have dinner ready when you get home, but we have never been comfortable leaving anything hot on while B isn’t being actively supervised. So, for us, freezing works best (well, a personal chef would be even better, but unfortunately I don’t see that luxury in our future). To avoid freezer burn, I highly recommend using the Food Saver.

If you’d like to give freezing your meals a try, here are seven great staples to start with:

  1. Pulled pork (just hold the sauce)
  2. Soups and stews
  3. Casseroles
  4. Meatballs or chili
  5. Burrito, fajita, or wrap filling
  6. Quinoa
  7. Diced chicken

Do you cook in bulk? What is your favourite freezer-ready meal?

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

30 thoughts on “Health Tip #9: Cook Your Meals in Bulk on Sundays

  1. You sound like my female clone. I cook my weekly dinners in one shot. It saves time and prevents the brain from wandering and seeking fast foods after working long hours. Having meals prepared ahead of time reduces temptations that otherwise might be exploited. There is a definite correlation with better health for those who prepare home meals vs. those who eat out regularly.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Not meal prepping was my biggest downfall. I’d be so tired after work and then I’d ask my husband, “how about I just bring home sushi/thai/whatever?” and he would agree (happy wife, happy life).

      Now that I have eliminated the relevancy of my excuses, they’ve lost their power over my life. I’m tired? Great, it takes just as much effort to heat up an already prepared dinner as it does to go through the drive-thru. Now what, lazy Scarlet?! πŸ˜€

      I trick myself into meeting my goals. Hey, whatever works, right?

      PS: If I’m on the path to being your clone, then I must be doing a LOT of things right πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I always do this, such a great strategy! I love soup and find that most varieties freeze really well if you freeze them in ice cube trays, then pop the frozen cubes into freezer safe storage containers. When you are ready to eat just put a few cubes into a pot for heating and eating.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whenever I mention to someone that I meal prep I get the massive eye roll in return. I saves time, keeps it healthier and saves you money. I’ve learned that fresh chopped veggies preserve best in a mason jar, so I’m not chopping fresh stuff every night (maybe every 3ish nights to replenish the jar).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely hate chopping vegetables and I am SO SLOW at it. If I can do it all at once and use it for the week (or at least a few days, like you mentioned), then it makes my life so much easier. It’s even better when my husband, who used to be a chef, speed chops everything for me, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. When we cook on the weekend, we eat well all week. Healthy, delicious meals. If we miss, we eat sandwiches and pizza. Perhaps a bit oddly, when we cook in bulk on the weekend we also eat more salads.
    We use the Crock Pot frequently. One of our favorites is a healthy dish w call Maureen’s Pulled Chicken. You can learn about it on her YouTube channel, Breakingblind.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Definitely the best thing to do, especially when you have kids. Great time saver during the week. Another alternative for those who must have freshly made food is to use the slow cooker. You can prep stuff the night before or prep for Mon and Tues on Sun, and prep for Wed and Thurs on Tues and then have left overs on Friday. Or make that the frozen meal previously made. Or, mix it up–previously made frozen meals on Mon, Wed, and Fri, and slow cooked ones on Tues and Thurs.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I started doing this after stepping out of home to do my masters.. Now Ive learnt the real value of my mom! I did undermine the presence of hot food on the table for the past 23 years! Nevertheless, this is an awesome way to save time and money!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was also surprised to learn firsthand how long meal planning, prepping, and grocery shopping take, especially when you eat healthy, like a lot of variety, and try to be frugal. It’s my part-time job!

      Like

Leave a Reply

