Photo Friday #10: Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada

Last week, I shared a picture of the CN Tower and promised to tell you about my favourite Toronto attraction this week. One of my readers actually guessed it in last week’s comments: Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada! I admit that it’s pretty pricey (as most things in Toronto are), but it’s definitely a cool experience that I would highly recommend. Where else can you safely see a bunch of sharks or pet sting rays and baby crabs? Hint: crabs don’t feel very nice and sting rays are kind of slimy but surprisingly cute and interactive.

JP and I recently had date night in the city (we live in the ‘burbs outside of Toronto) and we spent the day at Ripley’s followed by dinner out at Canyon Creek (a rarity for us) and then watching a hockey game (which I haven’t done since I was a little kid with my dad). It was a lot of fun! JP and I enjoy unique date nights (you may remember our visit to the pig sanctuary) and feel that having new experiences together is a great way to stay connected and keep our marriage fun.

What did you do for your last date night?Β 

ripley's aquarium

15 thoughts on “Photo Friday #10: Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada

    1. I haven’t been there in years! I remember it being fun though, especially because the knight gave me a rose πŸ˜€ I’ve never been with my husband, so I will add it to our list.

      Like

      1. Yeah, no. We do, on occasion hit my wife’s favorite restaurant for dinner… We are tight with the two most tenured waiters so we always get a great table next to the fireplace.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. We enjoy people watching in beautiful outdoor settings. We enjoy book shops followed by coffee shops where we discuss what we’ve been reading. We also enjoy the theatre and movies. My wife loves restaurants. I offer to eat out with her one time/week. I am not a fan of restaurants because (on an emotional level) they are a source of health problems for so many people. I don’t think restaurants are bad; I think it’s inherent in the business that food preparation is unhealthy. Since the consumer is demanding their products and services the restaurants are simply filling the need. I understand this, but choose to limit my participation.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh this is wonderful!! I forgot that you lived so close to Toronto. We (my daughter and I) are planning a trip to TO in the Spring/Early Summer so I will have to pick your brain lol
    This is definately on our list of things to do! Other things include going to Casa Loma, The Ontario Science Center and of course the Toronto Zoo. I cannot wait!
    All of my date nights are usually with my kid lol we do girls day dates. We went on one yesterday to the spa for mother/daughter mani pedis. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pick my brain? You mean VISIT ME AND B!

      The Toronto Zoo has tons of baby animals right now – pandas, lions, and rhinos! JP and I are actually planning a trip there as soon as it’s warm enough to be bearable (and when the March break kids are back to school, lol).

      Mother/daughter date night sounds fun! I should do one with my mom πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well of course a visit is needed! Thats a given lol
        That would be such a fun date! I havent been to the Toronto Zoo since I was a little girl. I just remember that it was so big we didnt get to see it all the day that we were there lol
        Go have a mother daughter date with your mom! it is fun and great memories ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantastic date night idea! We alternate between regular dinner and a movie style dates and the occasional one that’s a little more adventurous. You’ve definitely given me an idea or two for the next adventurous date πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m trying to lose weight, so we try not to eat out. On occasion, I will make lightened up nachos and we’ll watch a movie at home πŸ™‚

      We do have fun date nights when we go, but we definitely need to do it more often!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

