Boxer Meme #1: Grab Life By The Balls

There is no better way to start your Monday than with a meme from your favourite boxer, B! I’ve often said that we can learn a lot from our animals (forgiveness, patience, gratefulness, and living in the moment to name a few). Another trait that B (and many other dogs) have is that he will always go for what he wants in life and he doesn’t care if he looks silly. He is never afraid to give something his very best shot and, if it doesn’t work out, to keep trying until he gets it (B actually can carry more than one toy in his mouth at once).

I love this picture of B because it captures his spirit perfectly. In addition to working on his night photography (which you can see examples of here and here), JP is also working on his motion shots. He takes beautiful landscapes (which you can see here, here, and here), but when his subjects are moving (especially moving fast, like B), he has a harder time. JP has come a long way with his photography and has taken a lot of great pictures lately that I can’t wait to print and display in our home (we recently got a family frame for our soon to be painted living room).

Boxer Humor

As some of you may (or may not) have noticed, I have been absent from the blogging world for the last while. I have been dealing with a lot of personal challenges lately, both with losing my job and my health, and I needed to take a time out and focus on self-care (huge news: I finished my book while I was taking my break, so now I am in editing mode). For anyone who is interested, I am going to provide a brief update about what the heck has been going on in my life below. If you’re not into that sort of thing, well, then I hope you enjoy the picture of B and have a great day!

My Blog

In the new year, I presented my blog plan for 2016. I am still going to be sticking with the same topics, but I am going to be decreasing the cadence. While I am back for good and will be posting weekly again, I am focusing on “going with the flow,” which is an approach that I am applying elsewhere in my life as well. It feels great!

What would you like to see more posts about? I’d love to know!

My Health

I have been slowly but steadily losing weight and really focusing on meal planning and eating healthy, whole foods. In the near future, you will see wellness-inspired posts about:

  • Delicious new recipes we’ve been loving
  • My personal care product journey
  • Workouts that are kicking (and shaping!) my butt
  • A sample weekly meal plan in my household
My Career

I am pleased to report that I have landed an awesome new gig! In addition, I am also taking an online certificate program because I love school and I love to learn (and, okay, fine, I wanted to improve my resume as well). You can see why my blogging cadence will be decreasing – I have a lot of new things to focus on! However, blogging is also important to me and I want to keep at it, so I hope that you’ll stick around with me. I promise that it will be worth it – my drafts folder is brimming with lifestyle posts!

My Family

I’ve mentioned in the past that JP and I really wanted to get a lakefront cottage. Well, we did and we are loving it! Life is good right now and I am embracing an attitude of gratitude for all of the blessings in my life. It’s been a long, bumpy road to get here and I am nowhere near done, but I am happy to say that I am enjoying the journey and not just focusing on the destination.

Photo Friday will be coming back this week because I definitely want you guys to see a peek into our lives.

What have you been up to lately?

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

15 thoughts on “Boxer Meme #1: Grab Life By The Balls

  1. Your lakefront cottage sounds awesome! And yes the sooner a person can learn to go with the flow, the better life becomes. The journey becomes a joy instead of trying to just slog through life. Keep writing and I look forward to your posts on healthy living as I am starting that journey myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to see you posting. Was giving you some time, but was becoming concerned. Still have your messages and was planning a quick email to make certain you were ok. You beat me to the punch. Nice to see you back. Very excited about your new “gig.” Sounds like you are back on course and ready to move forward. Stay energetic and enjoy the journey (as you stated you would.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely missed chatting with you and appreciate your concern about me. At least one person noticed I was gone! LOL

      I am in a good place now and excited to share the things that I’ve been doing and learning with everyone. I was feeling very disconcerted and overwhelmed, so I listened to my body and gave myself some time to get back on track. I’m so glad that I did! The old me would have kept pushing through to my own detriment I am not going to put myself last ever again!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad that things are picking up for you. It’s hard to blog when life’s a bit miserable ! I hope that things continue to improve, and congratulations on finishing your book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I was having trouble keeping up my positive posting attitude and getting excited about content, so I am glad that I took the time to get into a good headspace – and finish my book! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

