Summer Pedicures and Manicures Using Non-toxic Nail Polish

Summer is on the way and with it comes warm weather, patios, barbecues, and, at least for some women, painted nails (but I won’t judge any men who also want a pretty mani and pedi). When it comes to your summer look, I am advocating that you follow my lead and think before you paint this season. My personal healthy living journey encompasses overall wellness, fitness, and healthy eating, and I’ve recently included many homemade DIY personal care and cleaning products in my arsenal.

However, I’m hesitant to create beauty products such as nail polish and make-up. There are certain products that I feel better about leaving to the pros (especially because I don’t particularly want to put a variation of cornstarch and cocoa powder on my face and expect it to look presentable), but I do opt for products that are as non-toxic as possible (I don’t believe that any commercial product is completely non-toxic). Unless I quit my full time job and become a chemist, certain products are out of my reach to make at home. Nail polish is one of them.

safe nail polish

Why Should You Avoid “Regular” Nail Polish?

There are four ingredients that are present in many commercial nail polishes that I think any sensible person would want to avoid putting on their body: ethyl acetate (a known neurotoxin), dibutyl phtalate (a reproductive and developmental toxin that is banned in some countries), formaldehyde (a known human carcinogen used to preserve the dead), and toluene (a toxin with potential reproductive and developmental consequences that can also damage organs like your kidney, liver, and brain).

In terms of unnecessary beauty products, my strategy is to avoid, avoid, avoid! There are enough toxins as part of everyday life that I can’t avoid, so I am certainly not willing to knowingly apply extra toxins directly to my body. However, if avoiding beauty products doesn’t sound reasonable for your lifestyle, I implore you to consider some options that are as non-toxic as possible (at the very least, type the product that you use into the Environmental Working Group’s database, Skin Deep, and critically evaluate the ingredients).

Some nail polish brands that are considered safe and non-toxic are:

I’ve provided you with a great list of colours and options here, so do your body a favour and give one a try for your summer pedicure and manicure this season.

Have you made the switch to any non-toxic products?

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

12 thoughts on “Summer Pedicures and Manicures Using Non-toxic Nail Polish

  1. I was laughing and crying as I read this post. Do you have any idea how many hours I spent in the cadaver laboratories breathing formaldehyde without any respiratory filter?
    Keep writing about these dangers AND alternatives to help people migrate to better selections.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Doctors don’t use protection when they are around cadavers?!

      I can’t believe that formaldehyde is actually an ingredient in nail polish! It is simply astounding what companies can get away with selling to us. The scary part is, most people don’t have any idea. Even if I get one person to think critically about their beauty products, it’s a win 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really never even paid attention to this! I saw that you can order it online, but are you able to purchase it in stores? I’m about to go to Vegas for Nationals and was going to do my nails today before the tournament! Either way I’ll definitely check out those brands. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In Canada, I haven’t seen any of these brands in retail stores, so I rely on Amazon. The US probably has a better selection and cheaper prices…as usual!

      Good luck at nationals, miss!

      Like

    1. I’m so glad the post can help you! It makes it worth writing 🙂

      Every time I see ladies with pretty manis and pedis, I want to tell them about what they’re putting on their bodies (as though the smell wasn’t enough of a giveaway, lol).

      PS: you can use plain old rubbing alcohol to remove the polish, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

