Health Tip #12: Get organic versions of the “dirty dozen”

The Environmental Working Group produces an annual list of the “dirty dozen” and “clean fifteen” to help consumers decide which produce items they should consider purchasing organic and which items are generally considered “safe” to buy conventionally. I understand that it’s expensive to buy organic and that the issue can be contentious, but it doesn’t hurt to consider your options and be aware of what you are consuming. We all need to take our health seriously and invest in it (if possible – I realize that organic may not be an option for some people financially).

Regardless of what you decide, I advocate that everyone should use a brush to clean their produce before they consume it.

Health Tip #12: Get organic versions of the “dirty dozen”

EWG-Dirty-Dozen-Clean-15-list1
This is a great quick reference guide when making your purchasing decisions (click to enlarge).

What are your thoughts on buying organic?

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

30 thoughts on “Health Tip #12: Get organic versions of the “dirty dozen”

  1. About 90% of my diet is organic. I have chosen to place my financial spending on my health FIRST. I think if more people began to recognize they take their health for granted and sacrifice it for convenience and PERCEIVED lower costs, they would change their behavior and attitude about FOOD and LIFE. It seems like we may only have 1 go-round and can’t afford wasting it unintentionally causing self harm and damage that often ruins our ability to live the lives we choose. Food is a SIMPLE choice, however, this does not mean it is always fun and enjoyable. If I’m not mistaken, neither is work, but somehow we recognize the value in completing these work related tasks that are NOT fun and enjoyable. It comes down to CHOICE and SELF VALUE!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I choose to spend money on my health first, too. When people comment about their perception of the cost of the food that we buy, I usually refrain from commenting but wonder, isn’t your own health worth it to you? I suppose in a lot of cases, convenience and price are what matter most to people.

      Unfortunately there are some lessons that folks don’t learn until it’s too late. But I will keep trying!

      Like

  2. I don’t believe that organic is better for my health as an individual, but it is better for the environment and the whole ecosystem, so there are benefits for all animals including us, humans as a group if not as individuals.
    People worry about reduced productivity but in the end we should all eat less and better quality of food – then we’d be much healthier and there would be enough to go around the world.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m not sure about organic produce as the issue is quite contentous. However, the studies that I’ve read (and am choosing to believe, ha) claim that organic food does have less contamination. I doubt we will ever have mass commercially produced food that is contamination and chemical free, but I will accept a reduction if it’s the best that I can get.

      Like

  3. My grandfather grew a garden, he fertilized with manure from the barn mixed with compost from his own cultivated source, added 13-13-13 to the mix for added nitrogen. He did this until they moved from the farm in 1987. He passed away in May 2011 at 101 years of age. Along with raising his own beef, he worked outside all the way up until his very late 80’s, without any real significant health issues. My thoughts are eating fresh locally sourced food is a benefit, weather it’s certified organic or not, it’s a “Win/Win” in my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! In addition to buying from farmers’ markets whenever I can (and organic when possible), I also eat local and sustainable meat.

      I love to hear stories like the one that you shared. Living contentedly until you’re 101 is something that you don’t hear very often!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Humorously enough, you rarely see a real farmer chime in on this issue. Mainly it’s the ignorant masses who do. I have no dog in the hunt but I have friends in the grocery business (owners of multiple stores, not associates) and it’s widely known among them that organic is best only for their deposit slip. Grocers laugh all the way to the bank. Just sayin’.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I absolutely agree that there is no possible way to eliminate all pesticides from our food. If a neighbouring farm isn’t organic, then obviously there is going to be some cross-contamination. However, I still think it’s worth a few extra bucks to avoid having chemicals doused on my food. Everyone needs to clean their produce with a wire brush, but I have seen studies that show there is less chemical residue on organic produce. I think that’s the best we’ll get.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Oh, I have no doubt there’s less residue… I just don’t think the pesticides are bad. I think the organic movement is one of those “first world” problems that some farms and all grocers use to charge exorbitant money for food (take milk… $2 per gallon vs. $7).

        I’ve got a buddy who grows soybeans that eventually make carbon fiber bikes (seriously) and he says without Roundup and GMO soybean crops there’s no way it would be a viable crop… and that affects corn production and ground quality as well because soybeans are the alternating crop for corn that balances the chemical composition of the dirt (that would be the natural chemical composition of the dirt… nitrogen, etc.).

        That said, my wife buys organic whenever possible so I get it. Happy wife, happy life. 🤗

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I have been eating organic for years (first in the UK and now here). The skin of fruits and vegetables are good for you so I like to eat them and it is safer to eat organic. Final word, it just tastes better!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I’ve working towards eating healthier and exercising and this mini guide is great. Thanks for sharing it. I think when at all possible, its important to spend a little more to make sure you are getting quality food.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Absolutely! There are so many factors that we can’t control, so I prefer to focus on the ones that I can: what I eat, what I put on my body, what I clean my home with, and how much physical activity I get.

      I’m happy to hear that you’re on a healthy living journey, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. There is so much in the air and in the ground that can cause havoc to the human body that it doesn’t hurt one to try to protect themselves as much as they can. I used to love gardening but since the move things just don’t grow here so when I can find organic in the store for the products I need I will buy organic.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Obviously it’s harder in the winter to buy organic, but now that the weather is nice it’s super easy for me. I have a giant group of friends who are organic gardeners that shower each other with veggies.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

