Summer Bucket List (2016)

Today is the official first day of summer, which is also officially my least favourite season (I know, I know. Don’t throw tomatoes at me). I’m very fair skinned, so I burn easily, and I also despite being hot and feeling sweaty in the wrong circumstances (such as any time other than when I’m working out). I was born on the first day of autumn and it must have been a sign because that’s the season I wish that I could live in all year round.

However, I am currently working on being very mindful of my attitude and reminding myself (often) to be as positive as I can (despite the fact that it’s so hot I’m breaking a sweat walking to my car). So, despite my vehement dislike of the sun and the heat, I have created a list of fun things to do that will help me make the most of the season (as I count down the days until autumn).

Don’t forget to check out my overall life bucket list and my other seasonal bucket lists (autumn, winter, and spring) for some inspiration!

Tell me what you want to accomplish this summer in the comments below.

Bucket ListYes, I chose this picture on purpose. This little guy looks about as happy as I feel when I’m outside in the heat!

My Summer Bucket List
  1. Spend as much time at the cottage as possible (read: every freakin’ weekend – other obligations be damned)
  2. Have a family picnic
  3. Host a BBQ with our cottage neighbours
  4. Make s’mores by the campfire at least once, guilt-free. Life is too short not to have some s’mores
  5. Spend as many weekends as possible without any electronic devices
  6. Make some new couple friends who are in the same stage of life as us. Some of the people in our lives have been disappointing me lately (JP is a lot more easygoing than I am and he doesn’t care much either way), so there is no time like the present to branch out and meet new people
  7. Play Frisbee
  8. Go to a drive-in movie theatre
  9. Go fishing
  10. Watch as many sunsets as possible
  11. Sleep in the screened in porch at the cottage at least once
  12. Go for as many hikes as possible
  13. Play cards in the screen in porch at the cottage (the ones for grown-ups only are even better)
  14. Go on long bike rides
  15. Watch fireworks from the boat
  16. Buy produce from farmers’ markets as often as possible
  17. Do a puzzle on a rainy afternoon at the cottage (if I can’t eat chocolate, I might as well do this puzzle!)
  18. Learn how to do something new (I haven’t decided what yet, but bonus points for me if it’s out of my comfort zone)
  19. Work on B’s separation anxiety so that he can be happier at home alone during the day
  20. Continue to work on not being a worry wart (if something is out of my control, I need to remember to let it go)
  21. Leave a camera in the car so that we remember to take more pictures
  22. Seriously consider getting a second dog

Summer Bucket ListDisclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

27 thoughts on “Summer Bucket List (2016)

  1. That first sentence sounds like me! Lol I was born in the middle of January, and I tell my husband I could live in the snow-covered mountains for the rest of my life if it meant never being exposed to Mississippi Summers ever again. I DESPISE hot, humid weather. And, like you, I’m very fair-skinned…like…casper the friendly ghost fair. So, sunlight = no fun for Allie. Your list is really great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. With the humidity today, it feels like 40 (or 104 if you’re American). It is absolutely disgusting outside, I can’t stand it! When people say it’s beautiful outside, I just want to punch them πŸ˜€

      I’m glad that I have found a kindred spirit! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      1. EWWWW that sounds horrible! It’s absolutely miserable here today. It’s only 10:16am and it’s already 85*F, feels like 98*F, with a humidity of 80%. It’s cool compared to Friday…it was TERRIBLE. Where are you from?? I thought MS was the worst with the humidity! lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ohhh, you’re way up north! lol One of my friends traveled to Denver, I believe, and posted on facebook how he was like an hour from Canada and it was 89* outside. It’s crazy weather right now!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Now that looks like a fun list you put some time and effort into creating. I am looking to begin setting up speaking engagements with my community to discuss various concerns THEY feel impede their well being. I will do surveys to make certain I address their concerns rather than the ones I feel an affiliation towards. Hopefully, they will overlap and make the experience beneficial to all involved.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow I love this list! Very inspirational! I am totally in the same boat at you when it comes to driving sweat in the the summer. I hate it. But I do love to go to the beach. I love dogs! I really hope to get ones on the future, when I have my own home. I hope you get to accomplish many things on your summer bucket list !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sending kudos, not brickbats, for your opening comment about summer. My fair skin, reddish hair, blue eyes, and MS don’t adore summer in Florida. I have a closet with jackets just waiting for the temp to drop below 70!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You chose the wrong place to live! I would never live in Florida. I’d rather Alaska πŸ˜€ I’m glad that I found a kindred spirit when it comes to summer. Most people look at me like I have 4 heads when I complain about heat and sun.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

