Health Tip #14: Incorporate Coconut Oil into Your Life

Coconut oil is very trendy, so I feel that I need to put this out there: I used it religiously before it was cool. Generally, I don’t hop on bandwagons or encourage others to do so, but this is one instance where I would suggest that you make an exception. If you haven’t already gone crazy for coconuts, you should reconsider! However, not all things are created equal, so ensure that you get a high quality coconut oil that you can consume worry free.

Health Tip #14: Add Coconut Oil To Your Life

coconuts-892580_640 (2)
Coconut oil is so versatile that I am sure one of my ideas below will work for you!

10 Uses For Coconut Oil
  1. Coconut oil can be used as a skin moisturizer
  2. You can use coconut oil to replace eggs or butter
  3. You can mix coconut oil with your dog’s food to soothe allergies and irritated skin (B loves it)
  4. Coconut oil has a high heat tolerance, so you can safely cook with it (I also love avocado oil for this purpose)
  5. Β I only use natural products and coconut oil can be used to replace shaving cream and aftershave
  6. I love a good smoothie and coconut oil is a natural way to get the perfect consistency
  7. Coconut oil makes an excellent make-up remover
  8. You can use coconut oil to polish wood and shine up leather (do a patch test first!)
  9. For a delightful kick, you can add coconut oil to homemade soup
  10. If you’re a coffee drinker, consider adding coconut oil to your brew (yes, really!)

What’s your favourite way to use coconut oil?

Disclosure: if you buy any of these products from me, or do any of your amazon.com shopping through my store, my sweet boxer, B, will get some treat money. He thanks you in advance for supporting his cookie addiction and I thank you for supporting my blog.

34 thoughts on “Health Tip #14: Incorporate Coconut Oil into Your Life

      1. There are two grades…food & cosmetic! Food grade can be used just like coconut oil, cosmetic grade is great for skin and hair. Moroccan’s refer to it as Gods gift to beauty😎

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I used it for a while for oil pulling. I put a tablespoon of it in my mouth for roughly 20 minutes every night, just like mouthwash. It felt a bit gross at first and I had to adjust the overall amount because I salivate so much, but my teeth felt amazing! My dentist even noticed a slight difference at my check-up a couple of months later. Just don’t spit it in your sink or toilet – The oil will eventually solidify and ruin your pipes! What I did was spit it into a Ziploc baggie and threw it away once it got full.

    I need to get back into it. It was a good way to wind down my night and set my mind toward bedtime.

    Great tips! I’ll have to try it in my hair!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I use 5 grams of coconut oil in a 5 egg white omelette almost every day. Works beautifully in a ceramic pan (to prevent sticking) and adds great flavor to the omelette. If a dog is already on a healthy diet, coconut oil could be an excellent addition as you mentioned. Just make sure it is added in the diet slowly. Use an appropriate amount based on the type of dog and his or her weight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess we are terrible pet parents because we just started melting some down and doused B’s food with it! He loves it and his coat is so shiny. By the sounds of it, people should be careful following my lead. Thanks for pointing out!

      I’ve never tried it in omelettes – will do this weekend!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. The coconut tree is a very important part of our lives in our part of the country. We use coconuts in our daily food, coconut oil to prepare it, coconut oil for the hair. We use processed coconut oil and virgin coconut oil too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I keep meaning to try it out and always forget about it when we head to the grocery store. I love the taste and smell though and would love to start incorporating it into my diet and daily routine. Thanks for the extra push! Awesome post πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. i love a good list of reasons to make healthy choices πŸ˜‰ im all about coconut oil definitely subscribing for more tips like these. feel free to check mine out for lists of other healthy choices.

    Britt
    millennialsurvivalblog.wordpress.com/blog

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

